Justice and Public Safety
Executive Council

February 12, 2019

Media Advisory: Minister Parsons Convenes Committee on Violence Against Women and Girls to Set Priorities for 2019

The Honourable Andrew Parsons, Minister of Justice and Public Safety and Attorney General and co-chair of the Minister’s Committee on Violence Against Women and Girls, is hosting the group’s second meeting to set the priorities for the upcoming year. He will be joined by the Honourable Carol Anne Haley, Minister Responsible for the Status of Women.

The Minister’s Committee on Violence Against Women and Girls represents a group of government and community representatives who have experience and knowledge of issues surrounding gender-based violence.

The Honourable Lisa Dempster, Minister of Children, Seniors and Social Development; the Honourable Al Hawkins, Minister of Education and Early Childhood Development; the Honourable Bernard Davis, Minister of Advanced Education, Skills and Labour; the Honourable Sherry Gambin-Walsh, Minister of Service NL; and the Honourable Christopher Mitchelmore, Minister of Tourism, Culture, Industry and Innovation, will join the nearly 70 participants.

The event will take place tomorrow (Wednesday, February 13) at the Capital Hotel, 208 Kenmount Road, St. John’s. Media are invited for opening remarks at 8:30 a.m. however the meeting itself is open to invited participants only.

- 30 -

Media contacts
Lesley Clarke
Justice and Public Safety
709-729-6985, 699-2910

Nancy Hollett
Women’s Policy Office
709-729-4934, 725-6078

2019 02 12                              9:50 a.m.