House of Assembly
May 31, 2019

Media Advisory: Swearing-in Ceremony, Election of Speaker, and Speech from the Throne

Members of the House of Assembly elected in the provincial general election on May 16, 2019, who are eligible to swear their oaths will be sworn-in at a ceremony on Monday, June 10, at 10:00 a.m. in the House of Assembly Chamber. The Member-elect for Labrador West will be sworn-in at a later date. Seating in the Public Galleries for the ceremony will be by invitation only.

At 1:30 p.m. on Monday the House will open for the election of the Speaker. The process for electing a Speaker is outlined in Sections 2 to 4 of the Standing Orders (

Following the election of Speaker, Her Honour the Honourable Judy M. Foote, P.C., O.N.L, Lieutenant Governor of Newfoundland and Labrador, will read the Speech from the Throne to officially open the First Session of the 49th General Assembly.

There will be general seating in the Public Galleries for the election of Speaker and the Throne Speech.

- 30 -

Media contacts
Bobbi Russell
Policy and Communications Officer
House of Assembly

2019 05 31                              9:35 a.m.