House of Assembly
March 11, 2019

Selection Committee Established for Appointment of Information & Privacy Commissioner

The Honourable Perry Trimper, Speaker of the House of Assembly, advises that the Selection Committee for the appointment of the Information and Privacy Commissioner has been established in accordance with Section 85(3) of the Access to Information and Protection of Privacy Act, 2015 (the Act). The vacancy in the position occurred as a result of the resignation of Mr. Donovan Molloy, who was appointed to the bench of the Territorial Court of the Northwest Territories, effective February 20, 2019.

The Committee comprises Ms. Betty Day, Clerk of the Executive Council; Ms. Sandra Barnes, Clerk of the House of Assembly; Chief Judge Pamela Goulding, Provincial Court; and Mr. Kent Decker, Vice-President of Administration and Finance, Memorial University of Newfoundland.

The Committee’s mandate is to develop a roster of qualified candidates and submit the roster to the Speaker of the House of Assembly. In accordance with Section 85(6) of the Act, the Speaker will consult with the Premier, the Leader of the Official Opposition and the representative of the Third Party on the Management Commission before a resolution is brought to the House of Assembly appointing one of the individuals named on the roster as the Commissioner.

The Committee is being supported by the Public Service Commission. To facilitate the development of a roster of qualified candidates, the Committee is inviting expressions of interest for the position until April 5, 2019

- 30 -

Learn more
Access to Information and Protection of Privacy Act, 2015 - Section 85 (Appointment of Commissioner)

Information respecting the position of Information and Privacy Commissioner is available at: (see “Other Public Employment Opportunities” at bottom of page and click on “Information and Privacy Commissioner”)

Media contact
Bobbi Russell
Policy and Communications Officer
House of Assembly

2019 03 11                              4:30 p.m.