Executive Council
September 27, 2019

Premier Ball Recognizes Recipients of Public Service Award of Excellence

The Honourable Dwight Ball, Premier of Newfoundland and Labrador, participated in an event today recognizing exceptional public service employees who were presented with the Public Service Award of Excellence. Premier Ball was joined by Elizabeth Day, Clerk of the Executive Council.

This year there were seven people honoured consisting of four individuals and one team:

  • Jacqueline Carey – Newfoundland and Labrador Housing Corporation
  • Bernadette Duke – Children, Seniors and Social Development
  • Connie Fry – Health and Community Services
  • Cory Grandy – Transportation and Works
  • Intimate Partner Violence Unit – Constable Nadia Churchill, Constable Lindsay Dillion and Crime Analyst, Malin Enström, Royal Newfoundland Constabulary

This is the eighteenth year that the Public Service Award of Excellence has been presented. It is the highest honour that can be bestowed on public service employees and recognizes individuals and teams for exceptional work performance and honours achievements in innovation, leadership, relationship building, and excellence in service delivery.

More information on the Public Service Award of Excellence, including biographies of current and past winners can be found by visiting - www.gov.nl.ca/excellence/.

“It was an honour to meet these outstanding public service employees and recognize the work they do on behalf of the residents of Newfoundland and Labrador. Our province is stronger because of their efforts and I hope they realize the significantly positive impact their work is having. The delivery of crucial public services and programs would not be possible without employees such as these.”
Honourable Dwight Ball
Premier of Newfoundland and Labrador

“As showcased through today’s Public Service Award of Excellence ceremony, I am proud of the noteworthy achievements of our dedicated employees and for standing out amongst your peers as providing excellent public service. I am sincerely honoured to work with you. I congratulate the award recipients and all nominees. Your contributions are very deserving of the recognition you have received.”
Elizabeth Day
Clerk of the Executive Council

- 30 -

Learn more
Public Service Award of Excellence 

Follow us on Twitter: @GovNL external link

Media contact
Geoff Higdon
Office of the Premier


2019 09 27                              2:40 p.m.