Tourism, Culture, Industry and Innovation
April 30, 2018

The following statement was given today in the House of Assembly by the Honourable Christopher Mitchelmore, Minister of Tourism, Culture, Industry and Innovation

Honouring the winners and nominees from the 33rd ArtsNL Awards Gala

Mr. Speaker, this past weekend the outstanding achievements of the Newfoundland and Labrador arts community were honoured at the 33rd ArtsNL Awards Gala in Labrador City.

Our artistic trend-setters, talented performers, and cultural professionals were celebrated Saturday at the Labrador West Arts and Culture Centre. I congratulate all the nominees, and this year’s winners, including:

  • Duane Andrews - Artist of the Year;
  • Eric West - winner of the Arts in Education Award;
  • Beni Malone – winner of the ArtsNL Arts Achievement Award;
  • Sharon Bala – winner of the Emerging Artist Award;
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Credit Union – winner of the Patron of the Arts Award; and
  • Congratulations to Jacinta Mackey Graham, the 2018 inductee into the ArtsNL Hall of Honour.

Mr. Speaker, we have an enormous wealth of artistic talent that has fundamentally shaped our cultural expression and identity in Newfoundland and Labrador. That is why we are acting on a key commitment in The Way Forward, and developing a new Cultural Action Plan in this province this year. We will also launch an Arts Accelerator Program, in consultation with artists, to help them enhance the management, promotion, and development of their artistic practice. These initiatives build on the work our government has already completed with the Status of the Artist Act, which formally recognizes the important contributions that artists make to our province.

Our government appreciates how much provincial cultural industries contribute to the social and economic well-being of Newfoundland and Labrador. Working with our partners in arts, culture, and heritage, we will set themes, priorities and key actions towards supporting and sustaining these industries over the next five years.

Mr. Speaker, I ask all Honourable members to join me in congratulating all the nominees and winners at 33rd ArtsNL Awards Gala.

Thank you, Mr. Speaker.

2018 04 30                              1:55 p.m.