Municipal Affairs and Environment
February 22, 2018

The following statement was issued today by the Honourable Eddie Joyce, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Environment:

Minister Joyce Comments on Correspondence from Eastern Regional Service Board

Having recently met and exchanged correspondence with the Eastern Regional Service Board, I am reiterating my position regarding the waste management collection fees for seasonal and cabin properties being charged by the board. In a letter yesterday, Board Chair Ed Grant confirmed that the board is charging fees based on the deliberations of the Board about what constitutes a fair approach to the collection of these fees.

As I stated previously, regional service boards are independent entities that are responsible for providing waste management services and establishing service delivery policies to properties within the region. Through the Regional Service Boards Act, 2012, the boards have the authority to set fees to offset the expenses of delivering waste management services. The administration of the fees is specific to each board.

So far, nothing in the correspondence and/or information that has been provided changes the position of the department: that the board has the legislative authority to set fees to offset the expenses of delivering waste management services; and that the Eastern Regional Service Board can charge lower waste collection fees for seasonal users similar to other boards.

Our government supports proper waste management practices, and we are continuing our work to protect our environment and the health and safety of residents. The Provincial Waste Management Strategy was released in 2002 and broad implementation commenced in 2008. On November 1, 2017, we issued two Requests for Proposals for evaluating the current plan to ensure that the strategy is being implemented in a modern, efficient and cost-effective manner.

- 30 -

Media contact
Lynn Robinson
Municipal Affairs and Environment
709-729-5449, 691-9466

2018 02 22                              10:30 a.m.