Advanced Education, Skills and Labour
February 7, 2018

Minister Hawkins Leads Inaugural Meeting of Roundtable on Immigration

The Honourable Al Hawkins, Minister of Advanced Education, Skills and Labour, today led the inaugural meeting of the Minister’s Roundtable on Immigration.

Members representing the business community, labour, the K-12 education system, post-secondary institutions, municipalities, community organizations and service providers discussed shared priorities in attracting and retaining newcomers to Newfoundland and Labrador.

The inaugural meeting also included an update on actions in The Way Forward on Immigration in Newfoundland and Labrador, the province’s collaborative immigration action plan. The plan outlines 39 priority initiatives, of which 25 are fully implemented or ongoing.

Members discussed the role their organizations may play in achieving the plan’s future actions and identifying new initiatives to increase immigration. A list of the roundtable members is provided in the backgrounder below.

A second meeting of the Minister’s Roundtable on Immigration, a key commitment in the immigration action plan, will be held in spring 2018. The Provincial Government has committed to increasing immigration to the province to 1,700 newcomers annually by 2022.

“The first meeting of the Minister’s Roundtable on Immigration was an opportunity for members to meet each other and begin a strategic discussion to plan collaborative actions for the next two to five years. I am impressed by the members’ enthusiasm and heartfelt desire to address the province’s demographic challenges by identifying initiatives to increase immigration helping to ensure the province’s future social and economic growth and prosperity.”
Honourable Al Hawkins
Minister of Advanced Education, Skills and Labour

- 30 -

The Honourable Al Hawkins, Minister of Advanced Education, Skills and Labour, was joined at the Minister’s Roundtable on Immigration by representatives of various sectors, including Deirdre Ayre of Other Ocean Interactive (left) and Dr. Lloydetta Quaicoe of Sharing Our Cultures Inc. (centre).

The Way Forward on Immigration in Newfoundland and Labrador - PDF Icon

Office of Immigration and Multiculturalism - external link icon

Learn More

Follow us on Twitter: @GovNL external link icon and @AESL_GovNL external link icon

Media contact
Ryan Crocker
Advanced Education, Skills and Labour
709-729-1795, 725-9595

Permanent Members

Nancy HealeySt. John’s Board of Trade
Richard AlexanderNewfoundland and Labrador Employers Council
Mary ShortallNewfoundland and Labrador Federation of Labour
Megan Morris Association for New Canadians
Jose Rivera Refugee Immigrant Advisory Council
Gael CorbineauFederation Francophone de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador
Dr. Lloydetta QuaicoeSharing Our Cultures Inc.
Kaberi Sarma-DebnathMulticultural Women's Organization of Newfoundland and Labrador
Sonja KnutsonInternationalization Office, Memorial University
Dr. William RadfordCollege of the North Atlantic
Tony StackNewfoundland and Labrador English School District
Kim ChristiansonConseil scolaire francophone de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador
Craig PollettMunicipalities Newfoundland and Labrador
James Loder Academy Canada
Elizabeth Lawrence City of St. John's, Local Immigration Partnership
Kenneth MartinAtlantic Canada Opportunities Agency
Mark LaneNewfoundland Aquaculture Industry Association
Ron TaylorNewfoundland and Labrador Association of Technology Industries
Mervin WisemanNewfoundland and Labrador Federation of Agriculture
Lou AlteenExploits Regional Chamber of Commerce
Debby YannakidisGander & Area Chamber of Commerce
Sheldon PeddleGreater Corner Brook Board of Trade
Toby LeonLabrador West Chamber of Commerce
Sterling Peyton, ChairLabrador North Chamber of Commerce
Dr. Robert SheaMarine Institute

Visiting Members

Michelle SimmsMemorial University - Genesis Centre
Ivan EmkeMemorial University - Grenfell Campus
Renata LangMemorial University Students’ Union
Denise PikeNewfoundland and Labrador Federation of School Councils
Rob GreenwoodMemorial University Harris Centre
Dr. Tony FangMemorial University
Steve Butler City of Mount Pearl
Michael ClairCoordinating Committee on Newcomer Integration
Carey MajidNewfoundland and Labrador Human Rights Commission
Penelope RoweCommunity Sector Council
Elayne GreeleyCommunity Employment Collaboration
Roseanne LeonardNewfoundland and Labrador Association of Canadian Business Development Corporations
Carolina Herrera Reseau de Developpement Economique et d’Employabilite (RDEE)
Linda RossProvincial Advisory Council on Status of Women
Gary HennesseyTown of Grand Falls-Windsor
Ted GracieTown of Stephenville
Gary WensmanTown of Labrador City
Lynn PowerAssociation of Registered Nurses of NL
Pamela ToopeNewfoundland and Labrador Association of Allied Health Professionals
David HaireCanadian Manufacturers and Exporters – Newfoundland and Labrador
Craig Foley Hospitality NL
Nancy BraceRestaurant Association Newfoundland and Labrador
Betty WongChinese Association of Newfoundland and Labrador
Dr. Michael PaulHebrew Congregation of Newfoundland and Labrador
Dr. C.W.ChoKorean Association of Newfoundland and Labrador
Dr. Mansoor PirzadaMuslim Association of Newfoundland and Labrador
Thaddeus DreherNewfoundland and Labrador Multiculturalism Council
Hazel Ouano-AlpuertoPhilippine – Newfoundland Association
Nickie SoodSikh Community of Newfoundland and Labrador
Samir Debnath Hindu Community of Newfoundland and Labrador - Hindu Temple
Hyme NainuFriends of India Association
Alwell J. OyetAfrican and Canadian Association of Newfoundland and Labrador
Joseph SaleItalians of Terra Nova
Tracy HarrisEastern Health
Jamie KingVerafin Inc
Michael GoodridgeJohnson Insurance
Gloria ParsonsChancellor Park
Deirdre AyreOther Ocean Interactive
Paul CrawfordThunder Rode Ent Ltd
Marlene Van De WielMAR Investment Ltd

2018 02 07                              3:30 p.m.