Advanced Education, Skills and Labour
February 1, 2018

Provincial Government Establishes Minister’s Roundtable on Immigration

The Provincial Government today established a Minister’s Roundtable on Immigration, a key commitment in The Way Forward on Immigration in Newfoundland and Labrador. Led by the Honourable Al Hawkins, Minister of Advanced Education, Skills and Labour, the Roundtable on Immigration is the first of its kind in the province. It brings together representatives of various sectors including the business community, labour, the K-12 education system, post-secondary institutions, municipalities, community organizations and service providers. A list of permanent and visiting members is provided in the backgrounder below.

The Roundtable on Immigration will serve as a forum for discussion and collaboration as members combine efforts to find innovative ways to attract and retain more newcomers.

An inaugural meeting of the Roundtable on Immigration will be held on Wednesday, February 7. Officials from the Office of Immigration and Multiculturalism will provide an overview of actions taken during year one of The Way Forward on Immigration in Newfoundland and Labrador, the province’s immigration action plan. Members will discuss the plan as well as the role their organizations may play in future actions and initiatives.

The Provincial Government has committed to increasing immigration to the province to 1,700 newcomers annually by 2022.

“All of us have a role to play in increasing immigration to Newfoundland and Labrador, ensuring more newcomers choose to settle here and build a brighter future for themselves, our communities, and the province. I am very pleased to lead the Minister’s Roundtable on Immigration as we collaborate and consolidate our efforts to grow the provincial workforce and economy.”
Honourable Al Hawkins
Minister of Advanced Education, Skills and Labour

- 30 -

Learn More

The Way Forward on Immigration in Newfoundland and Labrador - PDF Icon

Office of Immigration and Multiculturalism - external link icon

Follow us on Twitter: @GovNL external link icon and @AESL_GovNL external link icon

Media contact
Ryan Crocker
Advanced Education, Skills and Labour
709-729-1795, 725-9595

Permanent Members

Nancy Healey, CEOSt. John’s Board of Trade
Richard Alexander, Exec. DirectorNewfoundland and Labrador Employers Council
Mary ShortallNewfoundland and Labrador Federation of Labour
Megan Morris Association for New Canadians
Jose Rivera Refugee Immigrant Advisory Council
Gael CorbineauFederation Francophone de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador
Lloydetta QuaicoeSharing Our Cultures Inc.
Kaberi Sarma-DebnathMulticultural Women's Organization of Newfoundland and Labrador
Sonja Knutson, DirectorInternationalization Office, Memorial University
Dr. William RadfordCollege of the North Atlantic
Tony Stack, CEONewfoundland and Labrador English School District
Kim Christianson, Directrice généraleConseil scolaire francophone de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador
Craig Pollett, CEOMunicipalities Newfoundland and Labrador
James Loder, Director of Community RelationsAcademy Canada
Jessica Barry, CoordinatorCity of St. John's, Coordinator Local Immigration Partnership
Kenneth Martin, VP, NLAtlantic Canada Opportunities Agency
Mark Lane, Exec. DirectorNewfoundland Aquaculture Industry Association
Ron Taylor, CEONL Association of Technology Industries
Lou Alteen, PresidentExploits Regional Chamber of Commerce
Debby Yannakidis, ChairGander & Area Chamber of Commerce
Sheldon Peddle, PresidentGreater Corner Brook Board of Trade
Toby Leon, PresidentLabrador West Chamber of Commerce
Sterling Peyton, ChairLabrador North Chamber of Commerce
Dr. Robert SheaMarine Institute

Visiting Members

Michelle SimmsMemorial University - Genesis Centre
Ivan EmkeMemorial University - Grenfell Campus
Renata LangMemorial University Students’ Union
Denise Pike, Exec. DirectorNewfoundland and Labrador Federation of School Councils
Rob GreenwoodMemorial University Harris Centre
Dr. Tony FangMemorial University
Steve Butler - Economic Dev. OfficerCity of Mount Pearl
Elizabeth Lawrence, DirectorCity of St. John's - Manager of Community Development
Jon PriceCoordinating Committee on Newcomer Integration
Carey MajidNewfoundland and Labrador Human Rights Commission
Penelope RoweCommunity Services Council
Carolina Herrera, Executive DirectorReseau de Developpement Economique et d’Employabilite (RDEE)
Linda Ross, PresidentProvincial Advisory Council on Status of Women
Gary Hennessey, Ec. Dev. OfficerTown of Grand Falls-Windsor
Ted Gracie, Director of Municipal SerrvicesTown of Stephenville
Gary Wensman, Town ManagerTown of Labrador City
Lynn Power, Exec. DirectorAssociation of Registered Nurses of NL
Craig Foley, CEOHospitality NL
Nancy Brace, Exec. DirectorRestaurant Association Newfoundland and Labrador
Betty WongChinese Association of Newfoundland and Labrador
Dr. Michael Paul, PresidentHebrew Congregation of Newfoundland and Labrador
Dr. C.W.ChoKorean Association of Newfoundland and Labrador
Dr. Mansoor Pirzada, PresidentMuslim Association of Newfoundland and Labrador
Thaddeus DreherNewfoundland and Labrador Multiculturalism Council
Hazel Ouano-AlpuertoPhilippine – Newfoundland Association
Nickie SoodSikh Community of Newfoundland and Labrador
Samir Debnath Hindu Community of Newfoundland and Labrador - Hindu Temple
Hyme NainuFriends of India Association
Alwell J. OyetAfrican and Canadian Association of Newfoundland and Labrador
Joseph SaleItalians of Terra Nova
Tracy HarrisEastern Health
Jamie King, CEO, PresidentVerafin Inc
Michael GoodridgeJohnson Insurance
Gloria ParsonsChancellor Park
Deirdre AyreOther Ocean Interactive
Paul CrawfordThunder Rode Ent Ltd
Marlene Van De WielMAR Investment Ltd

2018 02 01                              11:30 a.m.