Natural Resources
September 26, 2017

Provincial Government Announces Appointment to the Canada-Newfoundland and Labrador Offshore Petroleum Board

The Honourable Siobhan Coady, Minister of Natural Resources, today announced the appointment of Ted O’Keefe as a provincial member of the Canada-Newfoundland and Labrador Offshore Petroleum Board (C-NLOPB). Mr. O’Keefe’s appointment, effective today, is for a six-year term. The appointment was made through the merit-based appointment process established by the Independent Appointments Commission (IAC) Act.

The C-NLOPB was established in 1986 through the Atlantic Accord for the purpose of regulating the oil and gas industry offshore Newfoundland and Labrador. The seven-member board comprises three members appointed by the Federal Government, three appointed by the Provincial Government, and a Chair and CEO who is appointed jointly by the two governments.

Additional information on Mr. O’Keefe can be found in the backgrounder below.

“We look forward to working with Mr. O’Keefe and the board on further offshore development while ensuring worker safety, protection of the environment, and strategic management of our oil and gas resources. The board plays a key role in the management of our petroleum resources on behalf of the Federal and Provincial governments, and we will continue to work with the CNLOPB to ensure that issues important to the province are addressed in the best interest of the people of Newfoundland and Labrador.”
Honourable Siobhan Coady
Minister of Natural Resources

- 30 -

Learn More
Information about the C-NLOPB is available at external link icon

Follow us on Twitter: @GovNL external link icon and @NR_GovNL external link icon

Media contact
Chrysta Collins
Natural Resources
709-729-5777, 690-4436


Ted O’Keefe
Ted O’Keefe has 35 years’ experience working as a Professional Engineer in the province’s oil and gas sector. He has extensive experience in both the private and the public sectors, including more than twelve years with the Canada-Newfoundland and Labrador Offshore Petroleum Board, and 17 years with the region’s largest oil and gas operator, ExxonMobil Canada. Mr. O’Keefe has significant experience working in regulatory leadership roles supporting all phases of offshore activities including exploration (geophysical and drilling), project development (engineering and construction), and producing operations.

Throughout his career Mr. O’Keefe has represented ExxonMobil on numerous Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers (CAPP) committees and task forces (1998-2015), including chair of CAPP’s Eastern Canadian Environment Committee. He has been a Board Director of Newfoundland for Newfoundland Transshipment Terminal Limited (1998-2001) and One Ocean Inc., a joint oil and gas industry / fishing industry advisory board (2002-2015).

Mr. O’Keefe is actively involved in the community. He currently serves as board member of Stella Burry Foundation, Inc. and is the former chair of St. Bonaventure’s College Inc. (2011-2014).

2017 09 26                              2:15 p.m.