Health and Community Services
November 2, 2017

New Chair and Appointments Announced for Western Regional Health Authority Board of Trustees

The Government of Newfoundland and Labrador has appointed Bryson Webb as Chairperson of the Western Regional Health Authority Board of Trustees. In addition to current members, the following appointments and reappointments have also been made:

  • Sonia Lovell (reappointed to second term);
  • Richard Parsons (reappointed to second term);
  • Lloyd Chelsey Walters (new appointment);
  • Keith Watton (new appointment); and,
  • Gregory White (new appointment).

Appointments are made through the merit-based appointment process established by the Independent Appointments Commission Act. Biographical information, and a list of the current board, is available in the backgrounder below. Newfoundland and Labrador is the first Canadian province to establish a legislated merit-based appointment process.

“I wish to convey my gratitude to those who put themselves forward for these important community roles. The Regional Health Authority Board of Trustees performs a vital role in our health care system, and I wish all the best to the new chair and board in their work over the next term.”
Honourable John Haggie
Minister of Health and Community Services

- 30 -

Learn More
Western Health Board of Trustees - External Link

Follow us on Twitter: @GovNL External Link, @HCS_GovNL External Link and @WesternHealthNL External Link

Media contact
Emily Timmins
Health and Community Services
709-729-6986, 693-1292


Biographies for New Chair and Trustees of Western Regional Health Authority Board of Trustees

Sonia Nadine Lovell is a retired principal and educator with the Newfoundland and Labrador Eastern School District. Ms. Lovell has served with the Western Regional Health Authority Board of Trustees, the Career Assessment Centre of Sop’s Arm Pollard’s Point, and with Allied Youth of Newfoundland and Labrador. She has a Master in Education Administration degree from Memorial University.

Richard Parsons is a retired assistant director for personnel from the Western School District with 40 years of experience in education. Mr. Parsons has served as a Western Regional Health Authority trustee since 2009. He earned a Master of Educational Administration in 1984 from the University of Ottawa and also holds a Bachelor of Science and a Bachelor of Education from Memorial University.

Lloyd Chelsey Walters is a retired educator who studied leadership and curriculum development at Memorial University as well as McGill, Vanderbilt and Colorado State Universities. He has been a teacher, principal, program specialist and assistant director-personnel. Mr. Walters served as a councillor and mayor, Town of Burgeo, and is the founder of Burgeo Broadcasting System. He is a past secretary, past treasurer and current president of the Mount Patricia Cemetery Association and served six years as treasurer and two as president of the Long Range Shrine Club. He was selected Shriner of the year for Newfoundland and Labrador in 2016. He is a past district grand master - western, Grand Lodge of Newfoundland and Labrador and the current grand junior warden.

Keith Watton is a client executive with Bell Aliant and has been since 1998. Mr. Watton has served as chair of the Corner Brook Downtown Business Association and as treasurer of the Corner Brook Crime Prevention Committee. He holds a Bachelor of Commerce (Co-Op) from Memorial University.

Bryson Webb originally trained as a laboratory technologist and served as chief laboratory technologist at Central Newfoundland Hospital. After obtaining a diploma in health care administration from the University of Saskatchewan he served as chief executive officer of the Dr. Charles L. LeGrow Health Centre. He is also a graduate of the Canadian College of Health Service Executives. After retiring, Mr. Webb was appointed to the board of Health and Community Services Western where he served as vice chair. He was also appointed to the board of Western Healthcare Corporation. Mr. Webb currently is the chair of the Community Employment Corporation which provides services in southwestern Newfoundland and Labrador.

Gregory White, CPA, CA, CGA , is a public accountant engaged in private practice through his own firm, Gregory D. White, Chartered Professional Accountant. Mr. White has previously served as the chairman and chief executive officer of Marble Mountain Development Corporation and has extensive financial expertise. He is a chartered professional accountant, chartered accountant, and a certified general accountant.

Current board members – November, 2017:
Bryson Webb (Chair)
Sonia Lovell
Richard Parsons
Lloyd Chelsey Walters
Keith Watton
Gregory White
Dr. Tom Daniels
Sheldon Peddle
Brian Hudson
Regina Warren
Tom O’Brien

2017 11 02                             4:25 p.m.