May 11, 2017

Appointments Announced for Newfoundland and Labrador Liquor Corporation Board of Directors

The Government of Newfoundland and Labrador today announced three new appointees to the Newfoundland and Labrador Liquor Corporation (NLC) Board of Directors. The appointments were recommended through the Independent Appointments Commission.

Wayne Myles, Victoria Belbin and Fraser Edison have been appointed as members of the Board of Directors for a three-year term, effectively immediately. Mr. Myles will serve as board chair. The remaining members of the board will be appointed in the coming weeks.

Wayne Myles has expertise in law, governance, financial literacy, human resources, construction and entrepreneurship. He has served on a number of boards including the Victorian Order of Nurses, Oceanex and Fishery Products International.

Victoria Belbin brings to the board expertise in governance, policy and planning, entrepreneurship and social issues. She serves on the Board of Directors for the Dr. H. Bliss Murphy Cancer Care Foundation and the Institute of Corporate Directors – NL Chapter.

Fraser Edison has expertise in transportation services, marine technology, entrepreneurship and environmental issues. He currently serves as Chair of the Research & Development Corporation and is a board member for the Atlantic Innovation Fund Advisory Board with the Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency.

The NLC is a provincial Crown corporation responsible for managing the information, sale and distribution of beverage alcohol within the province.

The Independent Appointments Commission was established to create a merit based process for appointments to agencies, boards and commissions to make certain the process for appointing individuals to agencies, boards and commissions is open and transparent.

“I would like to acknowledge and thank Mr. Myles, Ms. Belbin and Mr. Edison for putting their names forward for consideration through the Independent Appointments Commission. I am confident with their experience and skills they will be invaluable to the NLC board. I would also like to thank outgoing board members Glenn Tobin, Andrea Marshall, Marjorie Gaulton, Brian McCormack and Dick McCrate, whose terms have expired, for their contribution and wish them well in their future endeavours.”
Honourable Cathy Bennett
Minister of Finance and President of Treasury Board

- 30 -

Learn More
Labrador Liquor Corporation: external link

Follow us on Twitter: @GovNL external link, @FIN_GovNL external link, @PSC_GovNL external link

Media contact
Tansy Mundon
709-729-6830, 693-1865

2017 05 11                              2:45 p.m.