May 10, 2017

Appointments Announced for the Atlantic and Interprovincial Lottery Corporations’ Board of Directors

The Government of Newfoundland and Labrador today announced two new appointees to the Atlantic Lottery Corporation (ALC) Board of Directors. The appointments were made through the merit-based appointment process established by the Independent Appointments Commission Act.

Janis Byrne is appointed to the Atlantic Lottery Corporation Board of Directors for a three-year term and to the Interprovincial Lottery Corporation for her duration as an Atlantic Lottery Corporation Board member. With her education, legal experience and experience on a number of boards and committees, Ms. Byrne brings a diverse skillset and perspective to the board to help provide effective oversight and leadership.

Paula McDonald is appointed to the Atlantic Lottery Corporation Board of Directors for a two-year term. Her professional competencies include financial and strategic planning and management, corporate governance, mergers and acquisitions, financing, investment evaluation, risk management, project management, and board and committee reporting.

The Board of Directors for the Atlantic Lottery Corporation determine the strategic direction and corporate policies, guide business operations and approve the annual business plan, operating and capital budgets. The board also monitors Atlantic Lottery’s internal controls and financial systems. The Board of Directors for the Interprovincial Lottery Corporation oversees the planning, risk management and business oversight of national initiatives.

“I would like to offer my sincere congratulations to Ms. Byrne and Ms. McDonald and thank them for their willingness to participate on the ALC Board. I am confident that both will be valued members of the ALC Board of Directors. I would also like to thank outgoing board member Kevin Breen for his contribution on the board and wish him success in his future endeavours.”
Honourable Cathy Bennett
Minister of Finance and President of Treasury Board

- 30 -

Learn More

Follow us on Twitter: @GovNL, @FIN_GovNL, @PSC_GovNL

Media contact
Tansy Mundon
709-729-6830, 693-1865

2017 05 10                             3:15 p.m.