Executive Council
July 31, 2017

Premier Ball Announces Parliamentary Secretaries and Parliamentary Assistant

The Honourable Dwight Ball, Premier of Newfoundland and Labrador, today announced changes to parliamentary secretaries and the Parliamentary Assistant to the Premier including the addition of two new parliamentary secretaries.

Parliamentary secretaries can make announcements and statements in the House of Assembly, respond to questions in the House of Assembly, represent the department at a public meeting or event and participate in the administration of a departmental program. They do not receive additional compensation for serving in these roles.

Parliamentary secretaries are as follows:

  • Randy Edmunds, Parliamentary Assistant to the Premier and Parliamentary Secretary for Indigenous Affairs;
  • Graham Letto, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Natural Resources;
  • Derrick Bragg, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Fisheries and Land Resources;
  • Derrick Bennett, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Children, Seniors and Social Development;
  • Carol Anne Haley, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Health and Community Services;
  • Colin Holloway, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Environment;
  • Mark Browne, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Tourism, Culture, Industry and Innovation; and
  • Bernard Davis, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Service NL.

“Our team of parliamentary secretaries and my parliamentary assistant will serve an important function in their respective departments. They bring an added perspective and also secure important experience that prepares them for possible ministerial positions in the future.”
Honourable Dwight Ball
Premier of Newfoundland and Labrador

- 30 -

Media contact
Michelle Cannizzaro
Office of the Premier


Biographies of parliamentary secretaries and the Parliamentary Assistant to the Premier.

Randy Edmunds
Randy Edmunds has served the people of Torngat Mountains in the House of Assembly since 2011. Randy was born in North West River and graduated from JCEM School in Makkovik. He received a Fishing Masters Class IV and Home Trade III Restricted Passenger Carrying Endorsement from the Fisheries College. Before entering politics, Randy worked in a variety of fields, including fishing, youth counselling, and the tourism and entrepreneurship sectors. He has served as a regional leader on a number of boards and organizations.

Graham Letto
Graham Letto was born and raised in L’Anse au Clair on the Labrador coast. He attended Memorial University and moved to Labrador West in 1973, embarking on a 30-year career with the Iron Ore Company of Canada. Graham has long been involved in regional politics prior to his election to the House of Assembly. He served as mayor of the town of Labrador City from 2001 to 2009. Additionally, he served as president of the Combined Councils of Labrador, president of Municipalities NL, among other leadership positions.

Derrick Bragg
Derrick Bragg was born and raised in the small community of Greenspond where he was employed in the municipal sector for 30 years as town clerk/manager. He was a strong advocate of community engagement and volunteered on various committees including fire chief for 28 years. Mr. Bragg served on the Board of Directors for the NL Association of Municipal Administrators for eight years, five of which was in the capacity of president. He was elected to the House of Assembly on November 30, 2015.

Derek Bennett
Derek Bennett is a lifelong resident of Lewisporte. A graduate of the Community Recreation Leadership Program at the College of Trades and Technology, Derek worked as the director of recreation and tourism with the town of Lewisporte for 25 years. In his role as director, Derek oversaw major community enhancements such as the development of the Woolfrey’s Pond Boardwalk. Derek serves as president of Recreation Newfoundland and Labrador and director with the Atlantic Marine Trade Association.

Carol Anne Haley
Carol Anne Haley was born and raised in Point May and has been heavily involved in the regional community for many years. She served as a special assistant to MP Judy Foote. Prior to that, she worked in the field of economic development as a community service officer and coordinator with the Greater Lamaline Area Development Association. She served as a member of the advisory board for the Grand Bank Seamen’s Museum. Carol Anne also served on the Schooner Regional Development Corporation’s board.

Colin Holloway
Colin Holloway was born and lives in Port Blandford, Bonavista Bay. He was elected to the House of Assembly as Member for Terra Nova on November 30, 2015. Prior to becoming a MHA, Colin graduated from Memorial University with a Bachelor of Arts degree, and worked in the provincial public service for 26 years. Colin has a Certificate in Applied Behavioural Analysis and he is an Accredited Partnership Broker. Colin has a strong background in child and youth services, affordable housing, education and community economic development.

Mark Browne
The youngest MHA in provincial history, Mark Browne is a passionate defender of rural Newfoundland and Labrador. He holds a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) degree in political science and French from Memorial University, and has taken an active part in federal and provincial politics since 2009. He worked as an aide to Liberal MP Hon. Judy Foote and as a political assistant for the Official Opposition. In addition to chairing the Liberal Party Economic and Resource Development Policy Committee, Mark was a student union leader and past board member of the NL Youth Parliament. He was elected on November 30, 2015 and subsequently appointed as Parliamentary Assistant to the Premier on December 18, 2015.

Bernard Davis
Bernard Davis is a lifelong resident of St. John's, a committed community volunteer, and a representative who has continuously worked to improve the community that he calls home. A graduate of Memorial University (Bachelor of Commerce), Bernard served as the Executive Director and Program Coordinator of the Church Lad's Brigade (C.L.B.) and an elected Councillor at St. John's City Hall before entering provincial politics. Through his community volunteer activities, Bernard is committed enhancing and promoting community development issues within the city and province.

2017 07 31                              2:25 p.m.