Education and Early Childhood Development
April 11, 2017

The following statement was given today in the House of Assembly by the Honourable Dale Kirby, Minister of Education and Early Childhood Development:

O’Donel High School Student Named 2017 Lester B. Pearson Scholar

Mr. Speaker, today I rise in this Honourable House to congratulate Zoey Davis of Mount Pearl, who is this year’s recipient of the Lester B. Pearson Scholarship for Newfoundland and Labrador.

Zoey is currently a Level II student at O’Donel High School in Mount Pearl. She was selected based on her outstanding academic achievement, her involvement in extra-curricular activities and her dedicated volunteerism within the community. Zoey has also won awards in public speaking and drama.

Mr. Speaker, the Lester B. Pearson Scholarship offers a life-changing opportunity for exceptional young people and will provide incredible support in helping Zoey fulfill her long-term goals. The scholarship is valued at $80,000 over two years for pre-university study in the International Baccalaureate Program at Pearson College, a United World College in Victoria, British Columbia. The Provincial Government contributes $34,000 to the scholarship.

I congratulate Zoey and hope her time at Pearson College enriches her life, solidifies the foundations for her academic future and opens doors to new and exciting opportunities.

I also congratulate three other students who, on the strength of their applications and their performance in the selection process, have been offered and have accepted United World College placements. I am pleased to announce that Jack Kenny, a level II student at Exploits Valley High in Grand Fall-Windsor, has been accepted at the United World College of the Atlantic in Wales, United Kingdom. Manish Benuen, a level II student at Mealey Mountain Collegiate in Happy Valley-Goose Bay, has been accepted at Pearson College, in Victoria, British Columbia. As well, Andree Gaudet, a level II student at Gonzaga High School in St. John’s, has been accepted at the United World College in Changshu, China.

Mr. Speaker, I ask all Honourable members to join me in congratulating Zoey, Jack, Manish and Andree and wish them every success in their respective studies.

Thank you, Mr. Speaker.

2017 04 11                              2:00 p.m.