Advanced Education, Skills and Labour
April 03, 2017

Members Appointed to Memorial University Board of Regents

Six new appointments have been made to the Memorial University Board of Regents through the merit-based appointment process established by the Independent Appointments Commission Act.

The new appointees are Margaret Eugenie Allan, Michelle Baikie, Glen Barnes, Joe Dunford, Karen McCarthy and Eleanor Swanson. Biographies are provided in the backgrounder below.

The Memorial University Board of Regents, along with Memorial University's Senate, is responsible for all matters related to programming, employees and other areas deemed to be in the best interest of the institution. It consists of 17 general members appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council, three of whom are joint Memorial University and College of the North Atlantic representatives, six members elected by the Alumni Association, and four student members.

The Department of Advanced Education, Skills and Labour is engaged with post-secondary educational institutions, both public and private, to support the development of programs needed to fulfill the needs of the labour market. For more information, visit:

“I am pleased these passionate, dedicated professionals are joining the Memorial University Board of Regents and am confident their service in this critical role will benefit the university and our province.”
Honourable Gerry Byrne
Minister of Advanced Education, Skills and Labour

- 30 -

Learn more
Memorial University Board of Regents External Link
Independent Appointments Commission

Follow us on Twitter: @GovNL and @AESL_GovNL

Media contact:

Ryan Crocker
Advanced Education, Skills and Labour
709-729-1795, 725-9595


Biographies of New Memorial University Board of Regents Members

Margaret Eugenie Allan
Margaret Eugenie Allan has significant experience in financial affairs, human resources, and strategic planning. She currently serves as Manager of Regulatory Affairs and Administration for Husky Energy, which includes government relations, federal-provincial benefits and regulatory affairs, and diversity.

Michelle Baikie
Michelle Baikie of Happy Valley-Goose Bay holds a Master’s Degree in Education Research from the University of Cambridge and currently serves as a cultural consultant/counsellor with the Nunatsiavut Government. She has experience in the K-12 school system, including working as vice principal at the Sheshatshiu Innu School.

Glenn Barnes
Glenn Barnes currently serves as the president of Glenn Barnes Architecture Inc. and has experience in architectural and engineering management. He has significant experience in facilities management and, in the past, has served as a general public representative on Memorial University’s Animal Care Committee and various roles with the Newfoundland and Labrador Association of Architects.

Joe Dunford
Joe Dunford has a Master’s Degree in Mechanical Engineering from Memorial University and considerable experience in facilities management, engineering, construction, and the skilled trades. He has served as Regional Director of Infrastructure Support for Eastern Health, responsible for maintenance and engineering at all of Eastern Health’s facilities and has been an Assistant Deputy Minister with the Department of Transportation and Works since summer 2016.

Karen McCarthy
Karen McCarthy’s expertise spans finance, human resources, board governance, and strategic planning. She currently serves as Director of Communications and Corporate Affairs with Fortis Inc. and has previously worked in the public sector as Assistant Deputy Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs.

Eleanor Swanson
Eleanor Swanson previously served on the Memorial University Board of Regents from 2005-2014. During this period she was vice chair of the board and her work focused on the university’s risk and audit, pension, and governance committees. She has significant expertise in healthcare policy and served as Director of Planning and Evaluation, Department of Health and Community Services, from 1999 to 2004.

2017 04 03                              1:05 p.m.