Executive Council
August 17, 2016

Premier Ball Announces Changes to Structure of Government

Today the Provincial Government is taking steps to streamline the work of departments and agencies to deliver better management, more efficient planning and sound governance. As part of this restructuring a number of departments and agencies will be combined and five deputy minister roles will be eliminated which represents a 19 per cent reduction.

“Since we took office, we have been closely reviewing the structure of government and identifying opportunities to streamline. By implementing this new structure we are continuing to adapt to our fiscal climate, with a goal of setting this province on a stronger economic footing. The restructuring of government is an ongoing process and the changes announced today mark the first step on that road.”
- The Honourable Dwight Ball, Premier of Newfoundland and Labrador

Below is an overview of the changes being made:

Department of Children, Seniors and Social Development This new department combines the responsibilities of the former departments of Child, Youth and Family Services, and Seniors, Wellness and Social Development.

Department of Fisheries, Forestry and Agrifoods This new department brings the Forestry and Agrifoods Agency under the umbrella of the former Department of Fisheries and Aquaculture.

Department of Advanced Education, Skills and Labour The functions of the Labour Relations Agency will now fall to the Department of Advanced Education and Skills.

Department of Environment and Climate Change This new department combines the Office of Climate Change and Energy Efficiency with the former Department of Environment and Conservation.

In addition to the actions above, the Office of Public Engagement will become part of Executive Council under Communications Branch, while the Access to Information and Protection of Privacy Office will move to the Department of Justice and Public Safety. Fire and Emergency Services-Newfoundland and Labrador will become part of the Department of Municipal Affairs.

"These decisions reflect our government's long-term goals and mark an important step in creating an efficient and focused public service. This new structure leverages operational strengths while at the same time puts emphasis on a more streamlined delivery of programs and services. We recognize and appreciate the dedication of all public service employees as we make these changes in the structure of government."
- Premier Ball

A full listing of deputy ministers is contained in the attached Backgrounder.

- 30 -

Media contact:

Michelle Cannizzaro
Media Relations Manager
Office of the Premier
709-729-3960, 725-9231

Deputy Ministers by Department; Biographies

Name Position Department
Genevieve Dooling Deputy Minister Advanced Education, Skills and Labour
Ted Lomond Deputy Minister Business, Tourism, Culture and Rural Development
Bruce Cooper Deputy Minister Children, Seniors and Social Development
Janet Vivian-Walsh Deputy Minister Education and Early Childhood Development
Colleen Janes Deputy Minister Environment and Climate Change
Julia Mullaley Clerk Executive Council
Vacant Deputy Clerk Executive Council
Carla Foote Associate Secretary to
Cabinet, Communications
Executive Council
Donna Brewer Deputy Minister Finance
Geoff Williams Deputy Minister Human Resource Secretariat
Dave Lewis Deputy Minister Fisheries, Forestry and Agrifoods
John Abbott Deputy Minister Health and Community Services
Heather Jacobs Deputy Minister Justice and Public Safety
Aubrey Gover Deputy Minister Labrador and Aboriginal Affairs
Patricia Hearn Deputy Minister Intergovernmental Affairs
Jamie Chippett Deputy Minister Municipal Affairs
Charles Bown Deputy Minister Natural Resources
Ellen MacDonald Deputy Minister Office of the Chief Information Officer
Sean Dutton Deputy Minister Service NL
Lori Anne Companion Deputy Minister Transportation and Works
Donna Ballard Deputy Minister Women’s Policy Office

John G. Abbott
John G. Abbott recently worked as a management consultant with the Institute for the Advancement of Public Policy, Inc. (St. John’s). Previously, Mr. Abbott was CEO of the Health Council of Canada (Toronto); and served with the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador as Deputy Minister of Health and Community Services, Assistant Secretary of the Treasury Board, Associate Deputy Minister of Health and Community Services, Chairman and CEO of Newfoundland and Labrador Housing Corporation, Deputy Minister of Works, Services and Transportation, and Deputy Minister of Municipal and Provincial Affairs. He also worked in the Department of Finance (1980-82), the Intergovernmental Affairs Secretariat (1982-87) and with the Senior Expenditure Review Committee (1987-89).

Mr. Abbott’s work as a public sector executive earned him the Institute of Public Administration of Canada (NL Division) Lieutenant-Governor Award of Excellence in Public Administration in 1999. In 2012, CMHA-NL awarded him the Dr. Clarence Pottle Award for Outstanding Service to Furthering Mental Health in the province.

Mr. Abbott holds a BA in political science and economics from Memorial University and a MA in Public Administration from Carleton University (Ottawa). He is National Treasurer of the Canadian Mental Health Association and recent President of its NL Division. He was chair of the board of directors of the former Health Care Corporation of St. John’s.

Patricia Hearn
Patricia Hearn has over 20 years experience as an executive with the Government of Canada in areas of economic and social policy and programs. Most recently she served as the Atlantic Executive Director of Innovation, Science and Economic Development (formerly Industry Canada) where she oversaw the operations of the Federal Government's economic program and policy agenda in the four Atlantic provinces.

Through several senior management roles in areas of innovation, trade and economic development, Ms. Hearn has developed strong networks at the federal and provincial levels, which she brings to this role. In addition to her Bachelor of Science, and Bachelor of Education degrees, Ms. Hearn also holds a Master of Business Administration degree from Memorial University.

Ted Lomond
Ted Lomond has been the Executive Director of the Newfoundland and Labrador Environmental Industry Association (NEIA) since July 2012. He has extensive experience in economic and business development having worked as a consultant to the private sector and having held senior management positions with the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, the Leslie Harris Centre of Regional Policy and Development at Memorial University, and the Newfoundland and Labrador Regional Economic Development Association (NLREDA). Mr. Lomond currently serves on the Atlantic Advisory Committee, Natural Science and Engineering Research Council and is a lecturer in the Faculty of Business Administration at Memorial University.

Mr. Lomond’s academic credentials include Master of Business Administration, Master of Philosophy in Humanities, Master Certificate in Project Management, Diploma in Applied Ethics (Environmental) and Diploma in Credit Management, Bachelor of General Studies in Arts and Sciences, executive management programs and several professional certifications. He is a Fellow of the School of Graduate Studies, Memorial University, and is currently completing a Master of Arts (Geography), Memorial University.

2016 08 17                              3:00 p.m.