Justice and Public Safety
June 5, 2015

The following is being distributed at the request of the Newfoundland and Labrador Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission:

Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission to Present Report to Government

Justice Robert P. Stack, Chairperson of the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission, will present the commission’s final report to the Honourable Darin King, Minister of Justice and Public Safety, on Monday, June 8, 2015.

The commission’s initial proposal was posted on April 10, 2015. Public sittings were held throughout the Province and a website was established to assist in the evaluation of the proposed provincial electoral district boundaries. “I would like to express my appreciation to everyone who attended the sittings and made presentations, as well as those who made comments and suggestions in other ways,” said Justice Stack. “I would also like to thank the commissioners for their dedication to the work of the commission and for a constructive and collaborative effort. Thanks go as well to Kate O’Brien, Legal Counsel; Diane Blackmore, Chief Administrative Officer; Jeanette Fleming, Administrative Assistant; Brett Forsey of the Newfoundland and Labrador Statistics Agency; Jeff Wood of the Department of Municipal and Intergovernmental Affairs; and other members of the provincial public service for their invaluable contributions to the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission.”

The commission is comprised of Hon. Robert P. Stack, Chairperson, appointed by the Chief Justice of Newfoundland and Labrador on February 9, 2015, and commissioners Bernard Coffey, QC, Mr. Allan Goulding, Mr. Bill Matthews and Mr. Shawn Skinner, appointed by the Hon. Wade Verge, Speaker of the House of Assembly, on February 13, 2015. The commission was mandated by the Electoral Districts Boundaries Act to provide a final report to the Minister of Justice and Public Safety on or before June 9, 2015, setting out its recommendations for the division of the province into 40 one-member electoral districts, together with the description of the boundaries and the name to be given to each district.

- 30 -

Media contact:

Diane Blackmore
Chief Administrative Officer
Newfoundland and Labrador
Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission
709-729-2673, 1-844-729-2605

2015 06 05                              10:25 a.m.