Justice and Public Safety
April 21, 2015

The following is being distributed at the request of the Newfoundland and Labrador Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission:

Public Advisory: Notice of Public Sittings for St. Anthony and Carbonear

The 2015 Newfoundland and Labrador Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission has released its proposal for the division of the Province into 40 one-member districts. Detailed information containing the suggested name, boundary description, population and map for each of the proposed districts is available at www.nledbc.ca/proposal.

To provide the public with the opportunity to comment on the proposed electoral boundaries, public sittings will be held on April 23, 2015, in:

  • St. Anthony from 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 noon at Hotel North, 31-51 West Street
  • Carbonear from 2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. at Fong’s Motel, 143 Columbus Drive

These public sittings will be held in the locations noted; the commission will be in St. John’s and will connect to the public sitting site by video link.

Procedures for presentation at a public sitting are posted on the commission’s website at www.nledbc.ca/schedule. or may be obtained by contacting the commission. Persons wishing to appear at a public sitting have been asked to provide a written summary of their submission and book a time at least three days in advance. Times will be allotted on a first come, first serve basis. If no one books an appearance at a sitting scheduled for a given location, the commission may cancel that sitting.

Public sittings will also be held in other locations in the province. A complete schedule of public sittings can be found on the commission’s website.

In addition to seeking feedback through public sittings, the commission encourages interested members of the public to comment on the proposal by using the commission’s submission telephone line, website comment form, email, fax or regular mail.

The commission is comprised of: Hon. Robert Stack, Chairperson; Mr. Shawn Skinner, Deputy Chairperson; and commissioners Bern Coffey QC, Mr. Allan Goulding and Mr. Bill Matthews. It has been mandated by the Electoral Districts Boundaries Act to provide a final report to the Minister of Justice and Public Safety on or before June 9, 2015.

- 30 -

Media contact:

Kate O’Brien
Legal Counsel
Newfoundland and Labrador
Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission
709-729-2698, 1-844-729-2605

2015 04 21                                                                       9:55 a.m.