Justice and Public Safety
April 10, 2015

The following is being distributed at the request of the Newfoundland and Labrador Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission:

Notice of Proposal and Public Sittings

The 2015 Newfoundland and Labrador Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission has released its proposal for the division of the Province into 40 one-member districts. A schedule of public sittings has been set to provide the public with opportunities to comment on the proposed electoral boundaries. Public sittings will begin on April 22 and will continue throughout the province until May 1.

To more fully present its proposal to the public, the commission will conduct a webinar on Thursday, April 16, at 1:00 p.m. The public may view the webinar on the commission’s website at www.nledbc.ca or attend in person at the Ramada St. John’s, 102 Kenmount Road.

In addition to seeking feedback through public sittings, the commission encourages interested individuals, municipalities, and organizations to comment on the proposal by using the commission’s submission telephone line, website comment form, email, fax or regular mail. Detailed information containing the suggested name, boundary description, population and map for each of the proposed districts will be published in the Saturday, April 11, editions of The Telegram and The Western Star and is available at www.nledbc.ca/proposal.

“The Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission is pleased to release for public review its proposal for the 40 seat electoral map of the province. The public is encouraged to provide comments by attending a public sitting or by using one of the other available means of communicating with the commission,” said Commission Chair, Justice Robert Stack.


1 St. John’s April 22, 2015 Comfort Inn 10:00 am – 4:00 pm
2 St. Anthony/ St. John’s April 23, 2015 Hotel North/ Comfort Inn 10:00 am – 12:00 pm
3 Carbonear/ St. John’s April 23, 2015 Fong’s Motel/ Comfort Inn 2:00 pm – 4:00 pm
4 Happy Valley-Goose Bay April 27, 2015 Lawrence O’Brien Arts Centre 9:00 am – 11:00 am
5 Corner Brook April 27, 2015 Glynmill Inn 7:00 pm – 9:00 pm
6 Grand Falls-Windsor April 28, 2015 Mount Peyton Hotel 2:00 pm – 4:00 pm
7 Clarenville April 29, 2015 Clarenville Inn 10:00 am – 12:00 pm
8 Whitbourne April 29, 2015 St. John the Baptist Anglican Social Centre 3:00 pm – 5:00 pm
9 Lewisporte/ St. John’s April 30, 2015 Brittany Inns/ Fairfield Inn & Suites 10:00 am – 12:00 pm
10 Marystown/ St. John’s April 30, 2015 Marystown Hotel/ Fairfield Inn & Suites 2:00 pm – 4:00 pm
11 Stephenville/ St. John’s May 1, 2015 Days Inn/ Fairfield Inn & Suites 10:00 am – 12:00 pm
12 Conception Bay South May 1, 2015 Manuels River Hibernia Interpretation Centre 2:00 pm – 4:00 pm

Note that the public sittings numbered 2, 3, 9, 10 and 11 will be held in the communities listed above; the commission will be in St. John’s and will connect to the public sitting site by video link.

The commission comprises Hon. Robert Stack, Chairperson; Mr. Shawn Skinner, Deputy Chairperson; and commissioners Bern Coffey QC, Mr. Allan Goulding and Mr. Bill Matthews. It has been mandated by the Electoral Districts Boundaries Act to provide a final report to the Minister of Justice and Public Safety on or before June 9, 2015.

- 30 -

Media contact:

Diane Blackmore
Chief Administrative Officer
Newfoundland and Labrador
Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission
709-729-2673, 1-844-729-2605

2015 04 10                                                                       11:10 a.m.