House of Assembly
February 13, 2015

Speaker Appoints Members of New Electoral Boundaries Commission

The Honourable Wade Verge, Speaker of the House of Assembly, today announced the members of the 2015 Newfoundland and Labrador Electoral Boundaries Commission, which has been appointed in accordance with Section 3 of the Electoral Boundaries Act to review and determine the province’s electoral boundaries.

The members of the commission are Mr. Bernard Coffey, Q.C., Mr. Allan Goulding, Mr. Bill Matthews, and Mr. Shawn Skinner. Speaker Verge noted that, in accordance with the provisions of the act, the Chief Justice of Newfoundland and Labrador, the Hon. Derek J. Green, has appointed the Hon. Robert Stack, a justice of the Supreme Court of Newfoundland and Labrador, Trial Division, as the chairperson of the commission.

“The new commission is constituted to reflect the structure of the House of Assembly Management Commission, which has an independent chair and equal representation from government and opposition parties” said Speaker Verge. The Speaker thanked the three leaders for recommending these nominees.

After the Report of the Electoral Boundaries Commission is received, it will be tabled in the House of Assembly.

- 30 -

Media contact:
Marie Keefe
Policy and Communications Officer
House of Assembly

2015 02 13                              12:40 p.m.