Text Size
Bookmark and Share
Fisheries and Aquaculture
January 24, 2013

Annual Fisheries and Aquaculture Scholarship Winner Announced

The fifth annual Department of Fisheries and Aquaculture Scholarship was presented by the Honourable Derrick Dalley, Minister of Fisheries and Aquaculture, to Brandon Fitzpatrick of St. John’s recently. The scholarship is valued at $1,000 and is awarded to a student from Newfoundland and Labrador graduating high school and pursuing a post-secondary education. The scholarship was created to promote and create awareness of the province’s fishing and aquaculture industries among youth.

“Fostering an understanding of the province’s fishing and aquaculture industries with youth is an important initiative of our government,” said Minister Dalley. “This year’s recipient of the Fisheries and Aquaculture Scholarship showed real talent and enthusiasm. Brandon’s essay was well researched and well written. Young people are the future of the seafood industry in Newfoundland and Labrador, and I commend Brandon for taking the initiative to learn about the province’s fishery. I offer him my sincere congratulations and wish him well in his future studies.”

The Department of Fisheries and Aquaculture Scholarship, established in 2008, provides assistance to a student with the cost of post-secondary education. Graduating students who wish to apply for the scholarship must submit a 2,500 word essay that describes what they feel is the biggest issue facing the province’s fishing and/or aquaculture industry and provide suggestions on how that issue can be addressed. Students must also demonstrate strong academic standing and participation in extracurricular activities throughout their final year of high school.

Brandon Fitzpatrick is a graduate of Bishop’s College in St. John’s, with a 90 per cent grade average. He was involved in various school activities such as rugby, hockey and volunteered as a laboratory assistant. Brandon coached with the St. John’s Minor Hockey Squirt Program and mentored the Under Water Robotics Team at Holy Cross Junior High, among other activities. He is currently attending Memorial University.

“Congratulations to Brandon Fitzpatrick on being chosen as the winner of the 2012-13 Department of Fisheries and Aquaculture Scholarship,” said John Dinn, MHA for Kilbride. “It is increasingly important that we educate students of the significance of our province’s fishing industry. This scholarship is a fine example of the great work the Provincial Government has undertaken in respect to youth awareness in this sector. I am pleased to see young people taking advantage of this worthwhile initiative and I wish Brandon the best of luck in his future post-secondary studies.”

The annual Department of Fisheries and Aquaculture Scholarship represents one of a number of initiatives aimed at stimulating youth interest in the issues facing fishing and aquaculture. Others examples of Provincial Government initiatives include the Dr. Wilfred Templeman Memorial Scholarship for graduate students, financial support for the Students on Ice educational expeditions to the Arctic and the Antarctic, and support for student placements at the Centre for Fisheries Ecosystems Research at Memorial University of Newfoundland’s Fisheries and Marine Institute.

Applications for the 2013-14 Department of Fisheries and Aquaculture Scholarship are now being accepted. The deadline to apply is June 28, 2013. The application can be found at www.fishaq.gov.nl.ca/forms/scholarship_application.pdf

-30 -

Photo: The Honourable Derrick Dalley, Minister of Fisheries and Aquaculture, presenting the 2012-13 annual Department of Fisheries and Aquaculture scholarship to Mr. Brandon Fitzpatrick of St. John's.

Media contacts:

Bradley Power
Director of Communications
Department of Fisheries and Aquaculture
709-729-3733, 699-5707
Tess Burke
Communications Manager
Government Members Office
709-729-3511, 699-2402

2013 01 24                                   10:15 a.m.

Last Updated:
This page and all contents are copyright, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, all rights reserved.