Text Size
Bookmark and Share
Natural Resources
June 8, 2012

Minister Announces Board Appointments

The Honourable Jerome Kennedy, Minister of Natural Resources, today announced four appointments to the Board of Directors of Nalcor Energy (Nalcor) and Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro (Hydro).

“These appointments reflect the strong level of leadership and expertise on both Nalcor and Hydro’s Board of Directors, and I look forward to the valuable contribution each individual will make in their new roles,” said Minister Kennedy. “Their experiences and varied skill set will help strengthen the boards, and I thank them for their dedicated service to the people of Newfoundland and Labrador.”

Under the authority of Section 7 of the Energy Corporation and Hydro Corporation Acts, Terry Styles has been appointed Chair of the Board of Directors of Nalcor and Hydro.

Under the authority of Section 6 of the Energy Corporation and Hydro Corporation Acts, Allan Hawkins, Leo Abbass, and Erin Breen have been appointed members to the Board of Directors of Nalcor and Hydro.

All appointments are effective immediately.

- 30 -

Media contact:
Heather Maclean
Director of Communications
Department of Natural Resources
709-729-5282, 697-4137


Terry Styles
Terry Styles is the managing partner of Appalachia Distributing Limited, and Nakyska Holdings in Stephenville. Initially developed to service the Bay St. George area of the province, the company has expanded to service the entire west coast of the island in distribution and transportation with warehouses, staff, and trucks in Stephenville and Corner Brook. The company is currently in the process of expanding into real estate and development. He previously served as Chair of the Board of Governors for College of the North Atlantic. Mr. Styles has a proven track record as an active member of the community through previous involvement with various minor and high school sports teams.

Allan Hawkins
Allan Hawkins is the Mayor of Grand Falls-Windsor and was elected in September 2009. He previously served on several other council committees including Chair of the Recreation Committee, Chair of the Multi-Cultural Committee, and Chair of the Economic Development Committee. Mayor Hawkins is actively involved in many community groups and organizations including the Alzheimer Society and Municipalities Newfoundland and Labrador.

Leo Abbass
Leo Abbass is the Mayor of Happy Valley-Goose Bay and is currently serving his third term. In his capacity as Mayor, he represents the community on a number of committees including the Atlantic Mayors’ Congress; Labrador Director of Municipalities Newfoundland and Labrador; Member of the Urban Municipalities Committee; Destination Labrador; Goose Bay Airport Corporation; and Labrador Winter Games. Mayor Abbass is actively involved in the community.

Erin Breen
Erin Breen is a partner with the St. John’s-based law firm Simmonds+Partners Defence, and was called to the Newfoundland Bar in April 2003. She is an active community member, and volunteers with the MacMorran Community Centre in St. John’s.

2012 06 08             12:05 p.m.

Last Updated:
This page and all contents are copyright, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, all rights reserved.