Text Size
Bookmark and Share
Executive Council
October 4, 2012

The following is being distributed at the request of his Honour, the Honourable John Crosbie, Lieutenant Governor of Newfoundland and Labrador:

Order of Newfoundland and Labrador Recipients Named

Eight outstanding Newfoundlanders and Labradorians have been chosen for induction into the Order of Newfoundland and Labrador. The Honourable John Crosbie, Lieutenant Governor of Newfoundland and Labrador and Chancellor of the Order of Newfoundland and Labrador, announced the names of the individuals today.

This year’s recipients are: Janet Cox, Tom Dawe, Freida Faour, John (Jack) Ford, Mary Dyer Gordon, Constance Howley, Captain Sidney Hynes, and Susan (Fran) Williams.

“These individuals exemplify the strengths, talent and determination of all Newfoundlanders and Labradorians,” said Mr. Crosbie. “It will be my great honour to bestow the Order upon each of them in order to recognize their tremendous and lifelong efforts.”

The investiture ceremony will take place at Government House on Tuesday, October 16.

“There is no doubt that this year’s inductees are all visionaries and leaders in their fields,” said the Honourable Kathy Dunderdale, Premier of Newfoundland and Labrador. “Each and every recipient truly reflects the spirit of the Order of Newfoundland and Labrador. Their passion has made them leaders in building the strong, proud and caring communities which characterize Newfoundland and Labrador today.”

The Order of Newfoundland and Labrador is the highest honour of the province and recognizes individuals who have demonstrated excellence and achievement in any field of endeavor benefitting the province and its residents in an outstanding manner. The first investiture took place in 2004.

Nominations for the next induction into the Order of Newfoundland and Labrador may be made until January 31, 2013. Any person or group may nominate an individual for recognition by the Order. The Order of Newfoundland and Labrador Advisory Council selects members to be invested into the Order after considering all nominations received.

For more information, please visit www.gov.nl.ca/onl.

- 30 -

Media contacts:

Lynn Hammond
Director of Communications
Office of the Premier
Debbie Marnell
Press Secretary
Office of the Premier
709-729-4304, 697-3128

Peter Noel
Private Secretary to the Lieutenant Governor


Individuals Selected for Induction into the Order of Newfoundland and Labrador

Susan Frances Williams
From her first vocation as a nurse to her term as the leader of the Labrador Inuit Association; from her pioneering leadership in founding the OKalaKatiget Society to her work as a member of the Nain Crisis Response Team, Susan (Fran) Williams has lived a life committed to supporting the health and identity of her community.

Janet Cox, R.N., S.C.M.
Janet Cox’s extraordinary efforts in the area of hereditary colon cancer have touched numerous lives. A caring and selfless professional whose utmost concern is for her patients, her contributions have made a significant impact on the enhancement of the health of the people of Newfoundland and Labrador.

Mary Dyer Gordon, C.M.
Recognized internationally as an educator, best-selling author, child advocate and parenting expert, Mary Gordon is the founder of Roots of Empathy, an award-winning program informed by the power of empathy that has touched countless lives. Thousands of children around the world have benefited from this profound program which is designed to build caring, peaceful and civil societies through the development of empathy in children and adults.

Tom Dawe, C.M., M.A.
Tom Dawe’s work as a poet, educator, visual artist, editor, and writer has profoundly enriched the cultural landscape of this province. Mr. Dawe’s work generates attention and respect provincially, nationally and internationally. He has been called a mentor, a remarkable cultural ambassador and one of the most authentic voices of and for Newfoundland and Labrador.

Freida Gabrielle Faour
Through her work as a municipal leader and community volunteer, Mrs. Faour’s dedication to Newfoundland and Labrador has always been evident in her personal and professional life. A lifelong resident of Corner Brook, she is a dedicated and inspiring community leader whose impact on our province crosses the sectors of education, music and arts, municipal politics, environmentalism and family living.

John C. Ford
John (Jack) Ford’s biography, The Jack Ford Story: Newfoundland’s POW in Nagasaki, is an amazing story of endurance, courage and survival during World War II in Japan. A witness to the Nagasaki atomic bomb, Mr. Ford continues to tell his story to school and other groups to condemn the use of nuclear weapons and advocate for world peace.

Capt. Sidney J. Hynes, M.M., F.N.I.
Capt. Hynes’ demonstrated excellence as a marine industry leader has brought significant social and economic benefit to this province. His outstanding contribution as a pioneer and innovator in the development and evolution of the industry is without parallel. Capt. Hynes’ impressive record of achievement reflects a true professionalism and the best personal qualities which have earned him the utmost respect.

Constance Howley, R.N., N.P.
A cornerstone of care, treatment, advocacy and support for people living with and affected by HIV/AIDS in Newfoundland and Labrador, Constance Howley has been called a pioneer, a visionary and a leader. Her contributions in the fields of nursing, research and community-based organizing have touched the lives of hundreds of men, women and children in this province and beyond.

2012 10 04             10:05 a.m.

Last Updated:
This page and all contents are copyright, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, all rights reserved.