Text Size
Bookmark and Share
Executive Council
July 27, 2012

Premiers Guide Development of Canada’s Energy Resources

HALIFAX - In 2007, the Council of the Federation (COF) developed an energy strategy titled A Shared Vision for Energy in Canada. It has been five years since the development of this strategy and much has changed. The commitments under the 2007 Seven Point Action Plan continue to be key priorities for provinces and territories. However, governments are now facing new and urgent priorities that require premiers to renew the 2007 COF energy strategy to ensure its continued relevance to Canada’s energy challenges.

A working group led by Alberta Premier Alison Redford, Newfoundland and Labrador Premier Kathy Dunderdale, and Manitoba Premier Greg Selinger, will work with provincial and territorial energy ministers to build on the 2007 action plan, assess the new challenges facing the energy sector and ensure that the country has a strategic, forward thinking approach for sustainable energy development that recognizes regional strengths and priorities and respects provincial, territorial and legislative jurisdiction over natural resources, a more integrated approach to climate change, reducing greenhouse gas emissions and managing the transition to a lower carbon economy.*

Every province and territory in Canada has different energy sources and uses, unique energy needs and priorities, and brings valuable expertise to the table. All provinces and territories share an interest in renewable energy, energy efficiency, conservation, and research and innovation. By working together, provinces and territories can create jobs and grow their economies, build manufacturing opportunities, and encourage the development of innovative energy solutions that will promote a sustainable energy future. Such collaboration between provinces and territories will build on Canada’s role as a world leader in energy.

Premiers recognized that the principles to guide the collaborative action under a renewed COF energy strategy include, but are not limited to:

* British Columbia will not participate in this process at this time.

- 30 -

Media contacts:

Glenda Power
Director of Communications
Office of the Premier
Milly Brown
Press Secretary
Office of the Premier
709-729-4304, 631-8477

Jennifer Stewart
Press Secretary
Executive Council Office
Government of Nova Scotia
Cell: 902-497-7198

2012 07 27             1:20 p.m.

Last Updated:
This page and all contents are copyright, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, all rights reserved.