Text Size
Bookmark and Share

Innovation, Trade and Rural Development
March 17, 2011

Provincial Government to Participate in
Canada-European Union Trade Negotiations

The Provincial Government will be expanding Newfoundland and Labrador’s role in the ongoing trade negotiations between Canada and the European Union.

The Provincial Government’s decision to take a more active role in negotiations involving the Federal Government, Canadian provinces and territories, and the European Union was made after approximately 18 months of monitoring the proceedings.

“The Provincial Government chose to monitor Canada-European Union trade negotiations to get a sense of the willingness of the Federal Government to fairly represent the interests of Newfoundland and Labrador,” said the Honourable Susan Sullivan, Minister of Innovation, Trade and Rural Development. “After closely monitoring the proceedings to date, I believe that to continue to meaningfully shape the outcomes we now have to participate as more than observers.”

Minister Sullivan confirmed Newfoundland and Labrador’s decision in a call yesterday to the Honourable Peter Van Loan, Minister of International Trade, Government of Canada.

“In my conversation with Minister Van Loan, I indicated that we have appreciated the manner in which we have been treated throughout this process and we are prepared to assume a greater role at the negotiating table,” said Minister Sullivan. “I also communicated to him that while we are still in the early stages of negotiating, the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador will not support the final agreement unless it best serves the interests of the people of this province.”

To date, six rounds of formal negotiations have taken place between the Federal Government and the European Union. The next round of negotiations is scheduled for April 2011.

- 30 -

Media contact:
Scott Barfoot
Director of Communications
Department of Innovation, Trade and Rural Development
709-729-4570, 690-6290

2011 03 17                                                     10:00 a.m.

Last Updated:
This page and all contents are copyright, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, all rights reserved.