Text Size
Bookmark and Share
Environment and Conservation
June 10, 2011

Newfoundland and Labrador’s Environmental Leaders Celebrated

Environmental award winners were celebrated today during a luncheon ceremony recognizing Newfoundland and Labrador Environmental Award recipients. The Honourable Ross Wiseman, Minister of Environment and Conservation, hosted the 22nd Environmental Awards ceremony at the St. Jude Hotel in Clarenville.

“The Newfoundland and Labrador Environmental Awards recognize the outstanding efforts and contributions Newfoundlanders and Labradorians make to sustain, protect and enhance the environment,” said Minister Wiseman. “It is a great opportunity during Environment Week to say thank you for their dedication and efforts. This year’s winners demonstrate tremendous commitment and are great examples of individuals that are putting words into action in their own backyards, schools, communities and workplaces.”

Winners were announced in six categories. Each of the winners received a plaque and $1,000 honorarium from the Multi-Materials Stewardship Board (MMSB) to further their own environmental projects or to donate to an environmental cause of their choice.

The year’s winners are:

“Newfoundlanders and Labradorians have made it known that the environment is a top priority,” said Leigh Puddester, MMSB Chair and CEO. “We are all proud of the environmental initiative taken by this year’s winners – they are committed to helping protect, preserve and sustain our environment and they are influencing others in their respective communities to take action. MMSB is honoured, once again, to be involved in recognizing our province’s environmental leaders and we are pleased to provide a $1,000 honorarium to further their environmental projects or donate in their name to an environmental organization or cause.”

The Environmental Awards is an annual celebration of environmental achievements in our province and raises awareness of the individuals, groups and businesses that are taking action to protect and sustain our environment. It is a joint initiative sponsored by the Department of Environment and Conservation, the Multi-Materials Stewardship Board and the Newfoundland and Labrador Women’s Institutes.

“It is indeed an honour and a pleasure to represent Newfoundland and Labrador Women’s Institutes here today,” said Jean Budden, President of the Newfoundland and Labrador Women’s Institutes. “We have been a partner and supporter of this program for 22 years and we take pride in acknowledging the contribution and dedication of so many individuals and groups who care for and protect the environment. Congratulations to the winners. We urge all citizens to become involved and committed to looking after our environment. With the cooperation and effort of everyone, we can and will accomplish much in sustaining our basic elements of earth, water and air.”

Minister Wiseman also recognized Sheila Lee on receiving the Lifetime Achievement Award. This award is given to an individual who is committed to environmental stewardship and has made a significant lifetime contribution to environmental protection and sustainability.

“I have been fortunate, through my teaching career, to have the opportunity to work with and education the youth in my area about the importance of protecting and enhancing our environment,” said Shelia Lee. “To be recognized with the Lifetime Achievement Award for this work is truly an honour.”

- 30 -

Media contacts:

Melony O’Neill
Director of Communications
Department of Environment and Conservation
Cara Pike
Director of Marketing and Communications
Shelia Lee
Jean Budden
Newfoundland and Labrador Women’s Institute

2011 06 10                                                                               12:30 p.m.

Last Updated:
This page and all contents are copyright, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, all rights reserved.