News Releases
Government Home Search Sitemap Contact Us  

Executive Council
July 12, 2010

Premiers Support Regional Energy Co-operation

Today Premiers Darrell Dexter, Shawn Graham, Robert Ghiz and Danny Williams re-affirmed their commitment to the creation of a collaborative strategy for clean and renewable energy across the region. 

"We all share a vision of an integrated and collaborative Atlantic Canadian energy system that supports the development of our renewable and clean energy resources, and an enhanced transmission system that links our four provinces to each other and to the world," said Nova Scotia Premier Darrell Dexter. "Our colleagues in New England have told us they see real advantages to working with us as a region, and we have assured them that is how we plan to operate going forward."

"Our provinces share many of the same energy challenges as well as many opportunities, and greater collaboration will allow us to build a stronger, greener energy sector while growing our economies," said New Brunswick Premier Shawn Graham.

"Collectively our four provinces have a tremendous array of proven energy resources awaiting development — enough to satisfy our own markets and those beyond our respective borders crying out for clean, reliable electricity," said Newfoundland and Labrador Premier Danny Williams.

"Regional collaboration is an essential component of PEI's Energy Strategy. It is only through working together that we can achieve our goals of energy security, environmental sustainability and economic development," said Prince Edward Island Premier Robert Ghiz. 

The premiers are in Massachusetts for the Conference of New England Governors and Eastern Canadian Premiers, where energy issues have been a major focus of discussions. Premier Ghiz was represented at the meetings by Deputy Premier George Webster.

All four Atlantic Canadian provinces have been working together on a range of energy issues through the Council of Atlantic Premiers, and look forward to building on that work in conjunction with the federal government through the Atlantic Energy Gateway Initiative.


Media contacts:

Newfoundland and Labrador
Elizabeth Matthews
New Brunswick
Hillary Casey
(506) 453-2144
Nova Scotia
Janet Lynn McNeil
Prince Edward Island
Geoff Townsend
(902) 368-4400

2010 07 12                                                     5:00 p.m.

SearchHomeBack to GovernmentContact Us

All material copyright the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador. No unauthorized copying or redeployment permitted. The Government assumes no responsibility for the accuracy of any material deployed on an unauthorized server.
Disclaimer/Copyright/Privacy Statement