News Releases
Government Home Search Sitemap Contact Us  

Executive Council
Tourism, Culture and Recreation
May 21, 2010

Newfoundland and Labrador's Top Young Athletes Honoured

More than 90 of the province's most accomplished young athletes, representing 25 sports, were honoured by the Honourable Danny Williams, Premier of Newfoundland and Labrador yesterday (Thursday, May 20), during the annual Premier's Athletic Awards. The ceremony was held at the Holiday Inn in St. John's.

"Once again, I am privileged to recognize the extraordinary athletic accomplishments of our province's young athletes," said Premier Williams. "These young men and women are to be commended for their continued commitment to their chosen sport. As elite athletes, their drive and determination continue to be an inspiration to us all."

The Premier's Athletic Awards Program provides grants ranging from $500 to $1,500 to assist young athletes with the costs associated with training and competition at the elite level. The amount each recipient receives is dependent on the level of competition in which they are engaged and the training requirements.

A complete list of award winners can be found in the backgrounder below.

"Every year our province's young athletes continue to reach new levels of athletic achievement provincially, nationally and internationally," said the Honourable Terry French, Minister of Tourism, Culture and Recreation. "As a Provincial Government, we remain committed to the development and support of athletic excellence. We want to provide our provincial athletes — particularly our emerging athletic talent — with every opportunity to reach their highest potential in sport performance."

Thursday's event also included the presentation of Team Gushue Scholarship Awards, valued at $5,000 each, to softball athlete Ryan Boland of St. John's and to Brenda Greene of St. Joseph's, who participates in the sport of shooting.

Mr. Boland is a mechanical engineering student attending Memorial University. For the past two years he has served as co-captain of the Kelly's Pub Junior Canadians National Champions and received all-star honours in the catching position.

Ms. Greene is currently in her fourth year at Memorial University, working toward a bachelor of science degree, with a major in biochemistry (nutrition). Last season, she represented Canada at several international shooting competitions, including both the World University Championship and World Military Championship.

Established in 2005, the Premier's Athletic Awards Program has provided more than $400,000 to support athletic excellence in Newfoundland and Labrador. For eligibility requirements and further information about the Premier's Athletic Awards, visit: 

Budget 2010: The Right Investments — For Our Children and Our Future provides over $1.2 million in new funding to improve existing programming and introduce new initiatives which support the goals and objectives of the provincial recreation and sport strategy, Active Healthy Newfoundland and Labrador. Since the launch of the strategy in 2007, more than $70 million in Provincial Government funding has been committed to recreational and sport infrastructure, programming, and athlete development.

- 30 -

Media contacts:

Elizabeth Matthews
Director of Communications
Office of the Premier
Heather May
Director of Communications
Department of Tourism, Culture and Recreation
709-729-0928, 697-5061 
Andrea Nolan
Press Secretary
Office of the Premier
709-729-4304, 727-0991

2010 Premier's Athletic Awards Recipients

ATHLETICS Ryan Brockerville Marystown
  Jenine Daley St. John's
  Colin Fewer Paradise
  Patrick O'Grady St. John's
  Kate Vaughan St. John's
  Jesse Walsh Burnt Cove
BADMINTON Emily Alexander Kippens
BASEBALL Steve Brien Mount Pearl
  Stefan Lono St. John's
BASKETBALL Alexandria Forsey St. John's
  Trevor Hearn St. Mary's Bay
  Hannah Jardine St. John's
  Kelia Pond Goulds
  Stephen Smith St. John's
  Victoria Thistle St. John's
CROSS-COUNTRY SKIING Philip McIlroy Portugal Cove-St. Philips
  Brittany Scanlon Plum Point
CURLING Erica Trickett St. John's
CYCLING Zachery Garland Broad Cove
DIVING Aaron Thorne Torbay
FIGURE SKATING Emily Benson Labrador City
  Alexandra Young Corner Brook
  Matthew Young Corner Brook
GYMNASTICS Griffin Brophy Mount Pearl
  Erica Devereaux Logy Bay
  Emily Griffin St. John's
  Kayla Hickman Paradise
  Jessica O'Dea St. John's
HANDBALL Leslie Amminson St. John's
  Tyler Mesh St. John's
  Colin Pumphrey St. John's
  Peter Walsh St. John's
HOCKEY Sarah Davis Paradise
  Andrew Ryan Paradise
POWERLIFTING Stacey Price Goulds
ROWING Jane Brodie St. John's
  Christopher Clark St. John's
  Stephanie Davis St. John's
  Allison DeLong St. John's
  Alyssa Devereaux Logy Bay
  Shannon Driscoll St. John's
  Paul Hussey St. John's
  Brent Payne St. John's
  Amanda Ryan St. John's
  Hilary Sinclair St. John's
  Joshua Sutton St. John's
  Kiersten Van Gulick St. John's
  Holly Whelan St. John's
  Tyler Young St. John's
RUGBY Patrick Parfrey St. John's
  Jordon Power Paradise
  Alexander Rogers Portugal Cove-St. Philips
  Robert Rogers Portugal Cove-St. Philips
  Robert Spearing Conception Bay South
  Matthew Whittle Conception Bay South
  Robert Wilson St. John's
SAILING Rebecca Power St. John's
SHOOTING Brenda Greene St. Joseph's, St. Mary's Bay
  Laurie Hearn St. Joseph's, St. Mary's Bay
  Benjamin Taylor St. John's
SOCCER Laura Breen St. John's
  Malorie Harris Mount Pearl
  Jane Pope St. John's
  Hannah Rivkin St. John's
  Heather Williams St. John's
SOFTBALL Ryan Boland St. John's
  Shane Boland St. John's
SWIMMING Kelsey Alexander St. John's
  Aaron Buckingham St. John's
  Rebecca Dyer Portugal Cove-St. Philips
  David Forbes St. John's
  Theoren Goosney Corner Brook
  Erica Noonan Stephenville
  Timothy Rusted Conception Bay South
SYNCHRO SWIMMING Jessica McCormick Mount Pearl
  Laura Osmond Mount Pearl
  Robyn St. Croix St. John's
TAE KWON DO Victoria Fitzgerald St. John's
  Eamon Morrissey Paradise
TENNIS Matthew Bendzsa St. John's
  Ian Connors St. John's
  Lewis Cook St. John's
  Josh Lehr St. John's
  Lauren Stringer St. John's
  Darcy Taylor St. John's
  Nicholas Vincent St. John's
  Cynthia Williams St. John's
VOLLEYBALL Max Burt Gander
  Maura Hayes Cupids
  Sasha Wilkins Gambo
WRESTLING Adam Butt Carbonear
  Emily Hurley Carbonear
Zachary Laing Carbonear
Victoria Ralph Carbonear

2010 05 21                                                9:15 a.m.

SearchHomeBack to GovernmentContact Us

All material copyright the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador. No unauthorized copying or redeployment permitted. The Government assumes no responsibility for the accuracy of any material deployed on an unauthorized server.
Disclaimer/Copyright/Privacy Statement