News Releases
Government Home Search Sitemap Contact Us  

Executive Council
October 7, 2009

Premier Announces Changes to Cabinet

The Honourable Danny Williams, Premier of Newfoundland and Labrador, today announced changes to his Cabinet. The new Cabinet ministers were sworn in today at a ceremony at Government House in St. John�s.

The following portfolios will be under new leadership effective immediately:

  • Minister of Finance, President of Treasury Board, Minister Responsible for the Public Service Secretariat and Minister Responsible for the Office of the Chief Information Officer - The Honourable Tom Marshall
  • Minister of Health and Community Services - The Honourable Jerome Kennedy
  • Minister of Justice and Attorney General � The Honourable Felix Collins
  • "I am pleased to announce today the addition of Felix Collins to our Cabinet, as well as new portfolios for some of our current ministers," said Premier Williams. "I want to thank both Ministers Kennedy and Marshall for their outstanding work in their previous departments and I look forward to their continued contributions individually as ministers and collectively around the Cabinet table."

    Premier Danny Williams also announced today that Dianne Whelan, Minister of Municipal Affairs, will serve as acting Minister of Transportation and Works effective immediately.

    "I thank Paul Oram for his tireless contribution to the public service and wish him the best in all his future endeavors," said Premier Williams.

    Appointments are effective immediately.

    - 30 -

    Media contacts:

    Elizabeth Matthews
    Director of Communications
    Office of the Premier
    Andrea Nolan
    Press Secretary
    Office of the Premier
    709-729-4304, 727-0991


    The Honourable Tom Marshall � Member for Humber East

    Tom Marshall is the son of the late Sylvia Marshall and Jack Marshall, former Progressive Conservative Member of Parliament for Humber-St. George�s-St. Barbe. He grew up in Corner Brook before attending Memorial University of Newfoundland, where he was awarded a bachelor of commerce degree in 1969, and Dalhousie University in Halifax, where he was awarded a bachelor of laws degree in 1972. After graduation, he returned to Corner Brook and joined the law firm of Barry, Wells and Monaghan as an associate lawyer, articling with Kevin Barry, Q.C., and became a partner in the firm of Barry, Wells, Monaghan, Seaborn and Marshall in 1975. He remained senior partner with the firm of Monaghan, Marshall, Murphy and Watton until his election and subsequent appointment to Cabinet in 2003 (Minister of Justice and Attorney General). In 1986, he was appointed Queen�s Counsel. Mr. Marshall was appointed Minister Responsible for Intergovernmental Affairs on March 11, 2005. On December 29, 2006 Mr. Marshall was appointed Minister of Finance and President of Treasury Board until October 31, 2008, when he resumed responsibility as Minister of Justice and Attorney General.

    The Honourable Jerome Kennedy � Member for Carbonear�Harbour Grace

    Jerome Kennedy was born and raised in Carbonear and graduated from Memorial University of Newfoundland in 1981 with a bachelor of arts (honours). He attended the University of New Brunswick Law School and graduated in 1984 with an LLB and was admitted to the Newfoundland Bar in 1985. He began practicing criminal law full time in 1989.

    During his career Mr. Kennedy practiced at all levels of court, including the Supreme Court of Canada. Prior to his election and subsequent appointment as Minister of Justice and Attorney General, Mr. Kennedy practiced with the criminal law firm Simmonds Kennedy in St John�s.

    On October 31, 2008, Mr. Kennedy was appointed Minister of Finance, President of Treasury Board, Minister Responsible for the Public Service Secretariat and Minister Responsible for the Office of the Chief Information Officer.

    He currently lives in St. John�s with his wife and their two children.

    The Honourable Felix Collins � Member for Placentia�St. Mary�s

    Born in St. Anne�s, Placentia Bay, Felix Collins graduated from Memorial University of Newfoundland with a bachelor of arts degree in education in 1964 and a bachelor of arts degree in 1968. He completed a masters of education degree in 1972 from the University of Boston and a bachelor of laws degree from the University of Ottawa in 1995, at which time he was awarded the Newton Rowell Scholarship for his dedication to public service.

    He worked as a school principal, teacher, coordinator and a superintendent of education until retirement in 1992, at which time he entered law school. He was called to the Newfoundland Bar in April 1996 and is a member of the Law Society of Newfoundland. He practiced law in St. John�s until 2007.

    He was Mayor of the Town of Placentia for sixteen years and a member of the Placentia Council for nineteen years. He was chairperson of the first Joint Councils of the Placentia area and served as Chairperson of the Placentia Area Recreation Commission. He was one of the founding directors of the Placentia Health Care Board, and served eight years as its vice-president. He served six years on the Board of Directors of Marine Atlantic.

    In 1990 he was named first winner of the Johnson Foundation Award, granted annually by the Newfoundland and Labrador Teachers Association to a provincial educator who has made a major contribution to community life. That same year he was named Placentia Citizen of the Year.

    In February, 2006, Mr. Collins was elected to the Newfoundland and Labrador House of Assembly for the District of Placentia and St. Mary�s in a by-election. He was re-elected on October 9, 2007.

    As a Member of the House of Assembly, Mr. Collins has served as Deputy Chair of Committees, Chair of the Elections and Privileges Committee, and a Member of the Public Accounts Committee. He has also served as Legislative Advisor to the Minister of Natural Resources and as Commissioner for the St. John�s Urban Region (Agricultural) Development Area Boundary Review.

    Mr. Collins is married, and has three children and one granddaughter.

    2009 10 07                                                     3:10 p.m.

    SearchHomeBack to GovernmentContact Us

    All material copyright the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador. No unauthorized copying or redeployment permitted. The Government assumes no responsibility for the accuracy of any material deployed on an unauthorized server.
    Disclaimer/Copyright/Privacy Statement