Executive Council
Tourism, Culture and Recreation
August 13, 2009

Premier Unveils Host City 2010 JUNO Awards Logo

A bold and colourful Host City logo for the 2010 JUNO Awards was unveiled today at The Rooms in St. John�s, where the Honourable Danny Williams, Premier of Newfoundland and Labrador, joined Ken Marshall, Chair of the 2010 JUNO Host Committee, to officially introduce the image, and the accompanying slogan.

The logo features three stylized clapboard jellybean houses, adorned with speakers, and is accompanied by the slogan "Ruckus on the Edge".

"The Host City logo for the 2010 JUNO Awards is literally bursting with energy," said Premier Williams. "It�s a strong, bold visual expression and it reflects the strength and vigor of Newfoundland and Labrador and its people. With the unveiling of the official Host City logo, the countdown to the �Ruckus� can begin. The province looks forward to hosting these exciting festivities and celebrating the Canadian music industry."

The 2010 JUNO Awards will be held April 12-18, and will feature the very best of this country�s musical talent, while also providing an opportunity to showcase the unique culture of Newfoundland and Labrador.

"This highly-anticipated event will promote this province�s musical talent, while also highlighting Newfoundland and Labrador as a tourism destination," said the Honourable Clyde Jackman, Minister of Tourism, Culture and Recreation. "More than ever, we are finding that visitors come to this province to experience our vibrant cultural scene, and to become part of the growing sense of pride and optimism that is redefining Newfoundland and Labrador and its people."

Also participating in this morning�s announcement were Melanie Berry, President of the Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS), Senator Fabian Manning, representing the Honourable Keith Ashfield, Minister of State for the Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency (ACOA), and St. John�s Mayor Dennis O�Keefe.

In addition to the unveiling, Mr. Marshall officially announced the volunteer members of 2010 JUNO Host Committee, and the first two corporate partners of the 2010 JUNO Awards, Fortis Properties and Target Marketing. Target Marketing also developed the 2010 Juno logo and slogan, in partnership with the host committee.

The 2010 JUNO Host Committee members are:

  • Ken Marshall, Chair
  • Paul Antle, Chair of the Volunteer Committee
  • Ann Anderson, chair of the Aboriginal/Francophone Committee
  • Carolyn Chaplin, Chair of the Public Relations and Media Committee
  • Gerry Crocker, Chair of the Finance Committee
  • Charlotte Jewczyk, Chair of the Marketing and Pageantry Committee
  • Paul Lannon, Chair of the Finance and Sponsorship Committee
  • Elizabeth Lawrence, Chair of the Host City Events Committee
  • Trevor Morris, Chair of the Host Services and Protocol Committee
  • Fergus O�Byrne, Chair of the Education Committee
  • Denis Parker, chair of the JUNO Week Committee
  • Eleanor Dawson, Member, Advisory Committee
  • Cathy Duke, Member, Advisory Committee
  • Ron Penney, Member, Advisory Committee
  • "An event of this significance requires the dedicated support of many volunteers to make it all come together," said Mr. Marshall. "In addition to the host committee, and all those who give freely of their time and talents to help to organize this exciting event, the support of the corporate community will be an essential part to making the 2010 JUNO Awards a rich and rewarding event for all involved."

    The Provincial Government has committed $750,000 to host the 2010 JUNO Awards. In addition to the corporate partners announced today, other sponsors, to date, are: the Foundation to Assist Canadian Talent on Recordings (FACTOR), Canada�s Private Radio Broadcasters, the Department of Canadian Heritage (Canada Music Fund), the Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency (ACOA), the City of St. John�s, and the Radio Starmaker Fund.

    For more information about the 2010 JUNO Awards, visit: //www.junoawards.ca/2010_mainpage.php 

    Picture 1: Host City logo for the 2010 JUNO Awards

    - 30 -

    Media contacts:

    Elizabeth Matthews
    Director of Communications
    Office of the Premier
    Heather May
    Director of Communications
    Department of Tourism, Culture and Recreation
    709-729-0928, 697-5061

    Roger Scaplen
    Press Secretary
    Office of the Premier
    709-729-4304, 727-0991

    Carolyn Chaplin, Public Relations and Media Chair
    2010 JUNO Host Committee

    2009 08 13                                                  10:55 a.m.

    SearchHomeBack to GovernmentContact Us

    All material copyright the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador. No unauthorized copying or redeployment permitted. The Government assumes no responsibility for the accuracy of any material deployed on an unauthorized server.
    Disclaimer/Copyright/Privacy Statement