Tourism, Culture and Recreation
February 16, 2007

Newfoundland and Labrador Talent
A Strong Force at East Coast Music Awards

Newfoundland and Labrador�s outstanding musical talent will shine at the East Coast Music Awards (ECMAs) this weekend in Halifax, Nova Scotia.

"The depth and diversity of our music community represented at this year�s ECMAs speaks to the immense talent of Newfoundland and Labrador musicians," said the Honourable Tom Hedderson, Minister of Tourism, Culture and Recreation. "While we certainly recognize the talent of our home-grown musicians, it�s great to see that acknowledgement extend beyond our shores. I wish all nominees the best of luck at the awards and offer congratulations to the artists who have been given the opportunity to showcase their talents at various venues throughout the weekend."

Singer-songwriter Ron Hynes has four nominations: Entertainer of the Year, FACTOR Recording of the Year, Male Solo Recording of the Year (Ron Hynes), and SOCAN Songwriter of the Year.

Earning double nominations are: Rex Goudie, Single of the Year and Pop Recording of the Year (Look Closer), and Amelia Curran, folk recording of the year and Female Solo Recording of the Year (War Brides).

Other nominees from Newfoundland and Labrador include:

  • Bill Brennan, Instrumental Recording of the Year;
  • Brian Byrne, Pop Recording of the Year;
  • Chris Kirby, Blues Recording of the Year;
  • Dante Hiscock, African-Canadian Recording of the Year;
  • Duane Andrews, Jazz Recording of the Year;
  • Heather Bambrick, Jazz Recording of the Year;
  • hey rosetta!, NEWCAP Radio Rock Recording of the Year;
  • Spanner, Instrumental Recording of the Year;
  • The Punters, Roots/Traditional Group Recording of the Year;
  • El Viento Flamenco, Roots/traditional Group of the Year; and
  • Steven Bowers, Pop Recording of the year.
  • Industry nominees from the province include:
  • Kevin Kelly (Newfoundland Herald), ECMA Media Person of the Year;
  • Avondale Music, Landwash Music Distribution, Record Company/Distributor/Indie Label of the Year; and
  • Lyle Drake, Industry Professional of the Year.
  • Artists showcasing at the awards this year include: Amelia Curran, Duane Andrews, Blair Harvey, Mark Bragg, hey rosetta! and Sherry Ryan.

"With such a depth of talent and the growing success of our musicians, the province recognizes the value of continued investment and support of our music community," said Minister Hedderson. "This annual recognition of the excellence of our musicians is certainly proof that our continued investment is paying off."

The Government of Newfoundland and Labrador invests in the arts and cultural community through a number of programs. This includes an annual allocation of $300,000 to Music Newfoundland and Labrador (Music NL) for marketing, touring, professional development and CD production. Musicians are also supported with funding obtained through the Newfoundland and Labrador Arts Council. In Budget 2006, the Provincial Government provided $ 1.2 million to the arts council with a commitment for increased investment that will see its budget increase to $1.8 million annually by 2008.


Media contact:
John Tompkins
Director of Communications
Department of Tourism, Culture and Recreation
709-729-0928, 728-7762

2007 02 16                                                 12:50 p.m.

SearchHomeBack to GovernmentContact Us

All material copyright the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador. No unauthorized copying or redeployment permitted. The Government assumes no responsibility for the accuracy of any material deployed on an unauthorized server.
Disclaimer/Copyright/Privacy Statement