News Releases
Government Home Search Sitemap Contact Us  

March 13, 2006
(House of Assembly)

Speaker appoints new Electoral Boundaries Commission

In accordance with Section 3 of the Electoral Boundaries Act, a new commission has been appointed to review and determine the province�s electoral boundaries. Speaker Harvey Hodder today announced the names of members of the 2006 Newfoundland and Labrador Electoral Boundaries Commission.

"The new commission is constituted to reflect all-party representation" said Speaker Hodder. The Speaker thanked the three political parties for recommending these nominees.

The members of the commission are Robert Aylward, Cle Newhook, Roger Grimes and Julie Eveleigh. Speaker Hodder also noted that, in accordance with the provisions of the act, the Chief Justice of Newfoundland and Labrador, the Hon. Clyde Wells, has approved the appointment of John J. O�Neill, retired justice of the Newfoundland and Labrador Court of Appeal, as the chairperson of the commission.

The commission will develop and publish proposals and facilitate public dialogue before making its recommendations.

After the Report of the Electoral Boundaries Commission is received, it will be tabled in the House of Assembly.

Media contact: Harvey Hodder, Speaker, (709) 729-3404

2006 03 13                            2:50 p.m.

SearchHomeBack to GovernmentContact Us

All material copyright the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador. No unauthorized copying or redeployment permitted. The Government assumes no responsibility for the accuracy of any material deployed on an unauthorized server.
Disclaimer/Copyright/Privacy Statement