News Releases
Government Home Search Sitemap Contact Us  

February 23, 2006
(Executive Council)

New Chief Electoral Officer, Commissioner of Members� Interests

Premier Danny Williams announced today that during the spring session of the House of Assembly, the government will ask the House to approve a resolution appointing Charles J. Furey as the next Chief Electoral Officer for the province, effective May 1. Should the resolution not be passed by May 1, Mr. Furey will occupy the position on an acting basis until the House votes on the resolution.

The premier also announced that the government will propose to the House that Mr. Furey be appointed as the Commissioner of Members� Interests.

�On behalf of government, I thank Mr. Furey for accepting the challenge of the responsibilities for these positions,� the Premier said. �His extensive experience as a Cabinet minister and legislator, as well as his involvement in government affairs at the federal level, make him an excellent candidate as an officer of the House of Assembly in these roles.�

Mr. Furey will succeed Wayne Green, Chief Electoral Officer and Commissioner for Members� Interests since 2001, who is retiring from the provincial public service.

�We extend to Mr. Green government�s sincere appreciation for his many years of dedication to serving the interests of the province, as well as our very best wishes for the future,� the premier said.

The Chief Electoral Officer operates under the Elections Act 1991 and is responsible for exercising general direction and supervision over the administrative conduct of elections and enforcing fairness, impartiality and compliance with the act. The Commissioner for Members� Interests operates under the House of Assembly Act and is responsible for monitoring, investigating and reporting on the compliance of Members of the House of Assembly with conflict of interest legislation.

Media contact: Elizabeth Matthews, Office of the Premier, (709) 729-3960, 690-5500

Charles J. Furey attended Memorial University, and graduated from St. Francis Xavier University with bachelor degrees in arts and education.

First elected to the House of Assembly in 1985, Mr. Furey served five consecutive terms as MHA for the District of St. Barbe. During that time, he served as Cabinet minister in several portfolios � Minister of Development; Minister of Industry, Trade and Technology; Minister of Mines and Energy; and, Minister of Tourism, Culture and Recreation. He also chaired the Economic Policy Committee of Cabinet for 10 years, and was a member of the Priorities and Planning Committee.

After leaving the public sector in 2000, Mr. Furey pursued business interests in the private sector.

2006 02 23                           10:55 a.m.

SearchHomeBack to GovernmentContact Us

All material copyright the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador. No unauthorized copying or redeployment permitted. The Government assumes no responsibility for the accuracy of any material deployed on an unauthorized server.
Disclaimer/Copyright/Privacy Statement