October 20, 2005
(Executive Council)

The following is being distributed at the request of His Honour, the Honourable Edward Roberts, Lieutenant Governor of Newfoundland and Labrador:

Order of Newfoundland and Labrador recipients announced

The Honourable Edward Roberts, Lieutenant Governor of Newfoundland and Labrador and Chancellor of the Order of Newfoundland and Labrador, today announced the names of the eight individuals who will be inducted into the Order of Newfoundland and Labrador. Tim Borlase, Tom Cahill, Desmond Dillon, Susan Knight, Ingeborg Marshall, Shane O�Dea, Deborah Powers and Janet Story will receive the honour during a ceremony to take place at Government House on November 10.

"The Order of Newfoundland and Labrador honours deserving individuals who have demonstrated, in their respective fields, a level of excellence that has influenced our province positively," said Mr. Roberts. "As the second investiture approaches, I am, once again, astounded by the achievements of these Newfoundlanders and Labradorians. This Order, the highest in the province, is indeed a fitting tribute to their endeavours, and I look forward to bestowing this honour upon them."

Premier Danny Williams said that the Order clearly demonstrates the wonderful work that is being done by the people of this province in numerous areas of significance. "I am overwhelmed by the dedication of these men and women to their chosen causes," said the Premier. "They clearly demonstrate their love of this place and of our unique culture in their pursuit of excellence. The commitment of these individuals to Newfoundland and Labrador is truly inspiring and they have created a legacy that is contributing to a brighter future for this province."

Chief Justice Clyde Wells, chair of the Order�s Advisory Council, reiterated the positive effect the recipients have had on the province and its citizens. "The means by which they have affected the lives of their fellow Newfoundlanders and Labradorians are varied and commendable. It is my pleasure to be able to join the recipients in the upcoming ceremony and celebrate the honour that will rightfully be accorded to them," said Chief Justice Wells.

The objective of the Order is to recognize individuals who have demonstrated excellence and achievement in any field of endeavour that benefits in an outstanding manner Newfoundland and Labrador and its residents. Any person or group may nominate an individual for recognition by the Order.

Media contact: Melony O�Neill, Communications, (709) 729-0557, 728-7762


Tim Borlase

Tim Borlase has distinguished himself in the Labrador community as a driving force for the arts, and education. He has been actively involved in promoting and sustaining the arts and culture of Labrador for more than 30 years.

Tom Cahill

For more than half a century, Tom Cahill has promoted our way of life through stage, television and radio, highlighting our colourful history through truth and humour. Mr. Cahill has demonstrated the uniqueness of our province and its place in Canada.

Desmond Dillon

Desmond Dillon�s work as a volunteer has been recognized by many of the organizations with which he serves, including the Canadian Red Cross, Royal Life Saving Society, and American Red Cross. His spirit of volunteerism is the very essence of his life and work.

Susan Knight

Susan Knight�s accomplishments are borne from her genuine love of this province, her immense appreciation for its culture and heritage, and her amazing skill as a musician, choral director and teacher. She has shown the world that this province is a centre of musical and cultural excellence.

Ingeborg Marshall

Ingeborg Marshall is a renowned expert on the history, ethnography and archaeology of the Beothuk Indians of Newfoundland. Over the past 30 years, she has meticulously and tirelessly carried out research on this indigenous culture.

Shane O�Dea

Having distinguished himself as a teacher, scholar and preservationist, Shane O�Dea has also gained provincial and national renown for his service to the heritage community of Newfoundland and Labrador. He has been instrumental in researching, documenting and maintaining our architectural heritage.

Deborah Powers

The name Deborah Powers is synonymous with the protection and best interests of animals in the province. As the Executive Director of the Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (SPCA), she has dedicated more than 30 years of volunteer work toward this cause.

Janet Story

Janet Story is renowned for her outstanding contribution to the nursing profession and the preservation of its history, as well as her work with numerous volunteer organizations. She was one of the leaders in establishing the Association of Registered Nurses of Newfoundland and Labrador more than 50 years ago.

2005 10 20        2:00 p.m.


SearchHomeBack to GovernmentContact Us

All material copyright the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador. No unauthorized copying or redeployment permitted. The Government assumes no responsibility for the accuracy of any material deployed on an unauthorized server.
Disclaimer/Copyright/Privacy Statement