November 29, 2004
(Human Resources, Labour and Employment)


Minister welcomes new members to board of 
Workplace Health, Safety and Compensation Commission

The minister responsible for the Workplace Health, Safety and Compensation Commission today announced the appointment of a new chair and three new members to the commission�s board of directors. "The commission is dedicated to improving the compensation system for both employees and employers, while focusing on quality client service and injury prevention," said Minister Joan Burke. "Each of the new appointees to the board of directors is committed to advancing the goals and mandate of the commission, bringing their own unique knowledge and expertise to the table."

Joan Cleary (Arnold�s Cove) will serve as the new chairperson of the board. The new members are Darren Roberts (Stephenville), Jack Parsons (Flatrock) and Grant Barnes (Conception Bay South). The board of directors has a total of 10 members.

"I am confident the new members of the board will make an invaluable contribution to achieving the vision set forth by the commission - to have the safest workplaces and be the best workplace insurance provider and employer in Canada. I would also like to acknowledge the contribution of the outgoing chairperson, Wayne Trask and board members, Roger Flood, Chester Foote and Michael Power for the work they have done to enhance and promote the workers� compensation insurance program in our province," said Minister Burke.

Media contact: Jacquelyn Howard, Communications, (709) 729-4062 or (709) 689-2624


Joan Cleary, a resident of Come By Chance, currently serves as the mayor of the town of Come By Chance. Ms. Cleary has been extremely active at the community level, serving on many committees, including the Community Liaison Committee for the North Atlantic Refinery and the Liaison Committee for the Whiffen Head Storage Facility. In her professional capacity as a registered nurse, Ms. Cleary held the responsibility of senior site medical attendant for the construction of storage tanks for offshore oil at Whiffin Head and as senior health specialist on the construction of the Terra Nova FPSO at the Bull Arm Site. Responsibilities included case management of all work-related injuries and liaison with medical facilities, WHSCC and on-site management.

Darren Roberts, a resident of Stephenville, is a chartered accountant and partner with Kung and Roberts. He has served as a councillor with the Town of Stephenville and is an avid volunteer, serving as a board member of the Stephenville Airport Corporation, the Bay St. George Chamber of Commerce and the Regional Economic Development Board, Zone 9.

Jack Parsons lives in Flatrock and is president and CEO of K & P Contracting Limited. He has been actively involved in many construction industry organizations, including director and past chair of the Newfoundland and Labrador Construction Safety Association, National Energy Conservation Association and the national, provincial and local homebuilders association.

Grant Barnes is a resident of Conception Bay South and is currently employed as the provincial representative of the International Association of Fire Fighters (IAFF). He is a member and past president of the CBS Lions Club, served on the Human Rights Committee of the IAFF and as chair of the Labour Management Committee of the St. John�s Firefighters Association.

2004 11 29                               12:00 p.m.

SearchHomeBack to GovernmentContact Us

All material copyright the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador. No unauthorized copying or redeployment permitted. The Government assumes no responsibility for the accuracy of any material deployed on an unauthorized server.
Disclaimer/Copyright/Privacy Statement