News Releases
Government Home Search Sitemap Contact Us  

February 2, 2001 
(Chief Electoral Office)


Results of by election in The Straits & White Bay North

The following is being distributed at the request of Robert J. Jenkins, Chief Electoral Officer.
The official addition of the votes for the January 30, 2001 by election in The Straits & White Bay North was completed by the Returning Officer, Mr. Carl May, 40 Cloud Drive, Roddickton, on Friday, February 2, 2001. Mr. May has certified the following votes cast for each candidate:

Mitchelmore, Ford,                     Non-Affiliated                      160 
Patey, Holly E.,                         New Democrat                      41 
Pilgrim, Ross,                            Liberal                              2374 
Taylor, Trevor,                            Progressive Conservative    2590 

In keeping with Sections 163(1) and 163(3) of the Elections Act, the Returning Officer will forward to the Chief Electoral Officer the declaration of election of Mr. Trevor Taylor on February 15, 2001, 12 clear days following the official addition of the votes, for publication in the Newfoundland Gazette whereupon arrangements will be made to swear him in as the member of the House of Assembly for the Electoral District of The Straits & White Bay North.

2001 02 02                                                               4:50 p.m.

SearchHomeBack to GovernmentContact Us

All material copyright the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador. No unauthorized copying or redeployment permitted. The Government assumes no responsibility for the accuracy of any material deployed on an unauthorized server.
Disclaimer/Copyright/Privacy Statement