News Releases
Government Home Search Sitemap Contact Us  

March 27, 2000
(Minister Responsible for Labrador)

Coastal Labrador Transportation Committee established

Earnest McLean, Minister Responsible for Labrador, following a meeting in Mary�s Harbour, Labrador on March 26, announced the establishment of a transportation committee to make recommendations on the future transportation needs in coastal Labrador on completion of the Red Bay to Cartwright coastal link road.

Committee members include: Lodge Bay to Mary�s Harbour - Glenys Rumbolt; St. Lewis - Keith Poole; Port Hope Simpson - Jeffery Penney; Charlottetown to Normans Bay and Pinsents Arm - Alister Turnbull; Williams Harbour - Paul Larkham; Black Tickle - Clara Morris; Cartwright - Jessie Bird (chair).

The transportation committee will advise government on how to best address the future transportation requirements in southeastern Labrador. This will be accomplished by conducting public consultation hearings in all communities in southeastern Labrador. Minister McLean stated: "It is important to government that those communities affected by any changes be given the opportunity to voice their concerns and provide input and direction in how these challenges can be addressed." Public consultations are scheduled to begin in the community of Port Hope Simpson on April 4 and will conclude by the end of April.

Media contact: Rick Callahan, (709) 729-4860

2000 03 27                                                 5:15 p.m.

SearchHomeBack to GovernmentContact Us

All material copyright the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador. No unauthorized copying or redeployment permitted. The Government assumes no responsibility for the accuracy of any material deployed on an unauthorized server.
Disclaimer/Copyright/Privacy Statement