Fisheries and Land Resources
November 20, 2017

Provincial Government and Town of Pouch Cove Commit to Municipal Habitat Stewardship

The Honourable Gerry Byrne, Minister of Fisheries and Land Resources, joined His Worship Joedy Wall, Mayor of Pouch Cove, today to sign a new Municipal Habitat Stewardship Agreement that will help protect valuable wetland and coastal habitats located in and around the community.

The agreement will provide support to the Town of Pouch Cove to assist with planning for conservation initiatives that will help protect sensitive wildlife habitat for a variety of waterfowl, shorebird, seabird and songbird populations while also offering enhanced protection for parts of the East Coast Trail.

The Municipal Habitat Stewardship Program is unique to Newfoundland and Labrador and encourages municipalities to recognize the value of wildlife habitat found in and near municipal planning boundaries and to take an active stewardship role that protects their value and integrity.

The Town of Pouch Cove is the 41st community in the province to enter into a Municipal Habitat Stewardship Agreement with the Provincial Government. The backgrounder below contains a complete list of communities participating in the program.

“This partnership with the Town of Pouch Cove will support efforts to safeguard natural areas and sensitive wildlife populations while also protecting parts of the East Coast Trail, which is one of the province’s key tourist attractions. Many similar partnership agreements established throughout the province are encouraging residents to take action to protect important wildlife habitats highlighting the value of community-based stewardship.”
Honourable Gerry Byrne
Minister of Fisheries and Land Resources

“This agreement is a significant accomplishment for the Town of Pouch Cove. This is an important tool, in conjunction with our town plan, for us as we need to increase municipal development while maintaining environmental stewardship. We are very proud to join the other municipalities in our province who have taken a lead on preserving our wetlands and coastal areas.”
His Worship Joedy Wall
Mayor of the Town of Pouch Cove

- 30 -

Learn More
Municipal Stewardship -

Town of Pouch Cove - external link icon

Follow us on Twitter: @GovNL external link icon and @FLR_GovNL external link icon

Media contacts
Craig Renouf
Fisheries and Land Resources
709-637-2284, 709-632-8167

His Worship Joedey Wall
Mayor of the Town of Pouch Cove


List of Communities Entered Into Municipal Stewardship Program

There are 41 communities which have entered into Municipal Stewardship Agreements with the Provincial Government. They include: Pouch Cove, Bauline, Bay Roberts, Burgeo, Bonavista, Carmanville, Cartwright, Centreville-Wareham-Trinity, Channel-Port aux Basques, Come by Chance, Deer Lake, Frenchman’s Cove, Flatrock, Flower’s Cove, Forteau, Gambo, Gander, Garnish, Grand Falls-Windsor, Happy Valley-Goose Bay, Hawke’s Bay, Indian Bay, Labrador City, Lewisporte, Mary’s Harbour, New Wes Valley, Portugal Cove-St. Philip’s, Port aux Choix, Red Bay, Spaniard’s Bay, Springdale, St. Anthony, St. John’s, St. Lawrence, St. Lewis, Steady Brook, Stephenville Crossing, Torbay, Wabush, Whitbourne, and Winterland.

2017 11 20                              10:45 a.m.