Fisheries and Land Resources
June 30, 2017

Provincial Government and Town of Forteau Sign Municipal Habitat Stewardship Agreement

The Town of Forteau and the Department of Fisheries and Land Resources have entered into a new Municipal Habitat Stewardship Agreement that will help protect valuable wetland and coastal habitats located in the community. A ceremony was held in Forteau yesterday marking the official signing of the agreement attended by Lisa Dempster, MHA for Cartwright - L’Anse au Clair and Town of Forteau Mayor Wilson Belbin.

The Municipal Habitat Stewardship Program is unique to Newfoundland and Labrador and encourages municipalities to recognize the value of wildlife habitat found in and near municipal planning boundaries and to take an active stewardship role in maintaining their value and integrity.

The Town of Forteau is the 38th community in the province to enter into a Municipal Habitat Stewardship Agreement with the Provincial Government. A complete list of communities participating in the program is highlighted in the backgrounder below.

“Here in Newfoundland and Labrador we are fortunate to have some of the most spectacular natural landscapes in the world. This program provides a unique opportunity for the Provincial Government and municipalities, such as Forteau, to work together to ensure many of these sensitive natural areas are conserved and protected for current and future residents.”
Honourable Steve Crocker
Minister of Fisheries and Land Resources

“The efforts of the Town of Forteau to conserve valuable wildlife habitat located within the heart of the community is a great example of how environmental stewardship can enrich our communities. The proactive efforts by residents of Forteau and the town council will play a vital role in conserving and sustaining waterfowl, seabirds and other wildlife.”
Lisa Dempster
MHA for Cartwright-L’Anse au Clair

“Entering into this Municipal Habitat Stewardship Agreement is a significant accomplishment for the Town of Forteau. This initiative highlights our community’s focus on environmental stewardship and the importance we place on increasing environmental sustainability in municipal planning.”
Mayor Wilson Belbin
Town of Forteau

- 30 -

Learn more
Municipal Stewardship -

Follow us on Twitter: @GovNL external link and @FLR_GovNL external link

Media contacts
Craig Renouf
Fisheries and Land Resources
709-637-2284, 709-632-8167

Michelle Ryland
Constituency Assistant to
Lisa Dempster, MHA for Cartwright - L’Anse au Clair

Mayor Wilson Belbin
Town of Forteau


List of Communities Entered Into Municipal Stewardship Program Agreements with the Provincial Government

There are 38 communities which have entered into Municipal Stewardship Agreements with the Provincial Government. They are: Forteau, Bauline, Bay Roberts, Burgeo, Bonavista, Carmanville, Cartwright,Channel-Port aux Basques, Come by Chance, Deer Lake, Frenchman’s Cove, Flatrock, Flower’s Cove, Gambo, Gander, Garnish, Grand Falls-Windsor, Happy Valley-Goose Bay, Hawke’s Bay, Indian Bay, Labrador City, Mary’s Harbour, New Wes Valley, Portugal Cove-St. Philip’s, Port aux Choix, Red Bay, Spaniard’s Bay, Springdale, St. Anthony, St. John’s, St. Lawrence, St. Lewis, Steady Brook, Stephenville Crossing, Torbay, Wabush, Whitbourne, and Winterland.

2017 06 30                              10:40 a.m.