Education and Early Childhood Development
November 16, 2017

The following statement was given today in the House of Assembly by the Honourable Dale Kirby, Minister of Education and Early Childhood Development:

Minister Kirby Congratulates Recipients of Provincial Scholarships

Mr. Speaker, today I rise in this Honourable House to announce more than $200,000 in scholarships for 201 recent high school graduates as part of the Provincial Scholarship program. The scholarship program recognizes high school graduates throughout Newfoundland and Labrador for their hard work, dedication and academic achievements.

The Junior Jubilee Scholarship valued at $2,500 is awarded to the student with the highest overall marks in the province. This year’s recipient is Matthew Hiscock, a graduate of O’Donel High School in Mount Pearl.

The Constable W.C. Moss Scholarship valued at $1,000 is awarded to the son or daughter of a member of the Royal Newfoundland Constabulary or the Royal Canadian Mounted Police the highest public exam marks - other than the Junior Jubilee Scholarship . This year’s recipient is Lindsey Feltham, a graduate of Mount Pearl Senior High.

Mr. Speaker, 120 high school graduates - three high school graduates in each electoral district - were awarded with an Electoral District Scholarship and 79 students have been awarded the Centenary of Responsible Government Scholarship, each scholarship valued at $1,000. A complete list of Provincial Scholarship winners is available online.

Mr. Speaker, I would also like to take this opportunity to acknowledge the announcement of a scholarship fund for Newfoundland and Labrador students founded by the Jamieson Family. This scholarship honours and commemorates the professional work and contributions of Don, Colin and Basil Jamieson. The Jamieson Family Memorial Scholarship will award $1,500 to a high school student who has been accepted into an accredited Canadian university in an undergraduate program in communication, journalism or political science.

Mr. Speaker, I ask all Honourable members to join me in congratulating the 201 high school graduates receiving scholarships and to wish them every success in their post-secondary education and future careers.

2017 11 16                              1:40 p.m.