Tourism, Culture, Industry and Innovation
May 18, 2017

The following statement was given today in the House of Assembly by the Honourable Christopher Mitchelmore, Minister of Tourism, Culture, Industry and Innovation:

Province Celebrates Junior Achievement Hall of Fame Inductees

Mr. Speaker, I am pleased to rise today to recognize Mr. Paul Antle, Ms. Gloria Parsons and Mr. John Patten as inductees into the 2017 Junior Achievement Business Hall of Fame.

For 27 years Junior Achievement has recognized and honoured entrepreneurs who inspire others through their investment and success in both business and community. This year’s inductees are certainly deserving of this distinction given their achievements with their businesses, and their efforts to improve the world around them.

Paul Antle started his first business venture from his mother’s basement, and has not looked back since. He used his master’s degree in engineering to broker hazardous waste disposal services, and later pioneered environmental industries in Newfoundland and Labrador. Today, Paul is a respected community builder, and is the President and CEO of Pluto Investments Inc.

At the age of 26, Gloria Parsons entered the construction industry in 1972 with a Grade 11 education, and turned it into the Parsons Group of Companies. In the early 1990s, Gloria created Chancellor Park, a long-term care home in St. John’s, where she now serves as President and CEO. Gloria continues to receive recognition for her accomplishments while quietly supporting her community.

After graduating from university in 1978, John Patten worked his way up the family business of Browning Harvey, until being appointed President in 2005. John has never hesitated from his vision of growth, and has adapted to the ever changing marketplace by making investments in plant infrastructure, facilities and technology. He is a recognized leader both locally and nationally, and a proud supporter of numerous charities.

Mr. Speaker, these individuals are role models for the next generation of leaders, and deserve to be acknowledged for their excellence in business leadership, professional achievement and contributions to society.

Mr. Speaker, I ask all Honourable members to join me in congratulating Paul Antle, Gloria Parsons, and John Patten on being named 2017 inductees to the Junior Achievement Hall of Fame.

Thank you.

2017 05 18                              1:55 p.m.