Text Size
Bookmark and Share
Tourism, Culture and Recreation
November 29, 2012

The following statement was given today in the House of Assembly by the Honourable Terry French, Minister of Tourism, Culture and Recreation:

Historic Commemorations Program Honours Cultural Treasures

Mr. Speaker, today I’d like to highlight the recent designations appointed under the Provincial Historic Commemorations Program.

The Provincial Historic Commemorations Program allows us to recognize, honour and interpret our cultural and historic treasures. The program also acknowledges the unique examples of our intangible cultural heritage that deal with the customs, cultural practices, traditional skills and knowledge that define the province and its people.

Citizens of the province have the opportunity to submit nominations for consideration in the categories of Exceptional People of the Past, Outstanding Historic Events, Unique Places, Distinctive Cultural Traditions and Practices, and Tradition Bearers.

Mr. Speaker, the latest commemorations ceremony was held in Grand Falls-Windsor in October to pay tribute to six new designates.

In the category of Distinctive Cultural Tradition or Practice the inductees were the Trapper, Fish and Brewis, and the S.S. Newfoundland Sealing Disaster of 1914. In the category of Event of Provincial Significance, designations were Resettlement, and the Founding of the Royal Newfoundland Regiment. Finally, John Nicholas Jeddore, a member of the Maiwpukek Band at Conne River, was designated a Tradition Bearer.

These inductions into the Provincial Historic Commemorations Program are provincially significant as they have influenced the history, culture, and way of life of Newfoundlanders and Labradorians.

Since the launch of the cultural strategy, the Provincial Government has invested more than $56 million into the arts, culture and heritage sectors. It is encouraging to see more individuals preserving and celebrating our cultural heritage.

Thank you.

2012 11 29                              2:05 p.m.

Last Updated:
This page and all contents are copyright, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, all rights reserved.