Text Size
Bookmark and Share
Environment and Conservation
June 6, 2012

The following statement was given today in the House of Assembly by the Honourable Terry French, Minister of Environment and Conservation:

Environmental Award Winners Announced for 2012

Mr. Speaker, I rise in this Honourable House during Environment Week, June 3 – 9, to recognize the accomplishments of a number of environmental leaders for their dedication and efforts. The Environmental Awards program is an annual celebration of environmental achievements in our province and raises awareness of the individuals, groups and businesses that are taking action to protect and sustain our environment. It is a joint initiative sponsored by the Department of Environment and Conservation, the Multi-Materials Stewardship Board (MMSB), and the Newfoundland and Labrador Women’s Institutes.

I had the pleasure earlier today, Mr. Speaker, of joining the awards recipients at a ceremony to recognize their outstanding environmental and conservation achievements. Mr. Speaker, the winners of the Environmental Awards for 2012 in each category are as follows:

In addition to being celebrated at the awards ceremony, Mr. Speaker, each of the winners also received a $1,000 honorarium from the MMSB to go towards furthering their own environmental projects or to donate to an environmental cause of their choice.

These men and women are environmental ambassadors for our province and they have demonstrated tremendous ingenuity and determination, along with an impressive passion for our environment. We are all responsible for the environment in our province and that is why it is so important to recognize their great accomplishments and encourage others to follow their example.

Mr. Speaker, a healthy and sustainable environment yields healthy people, a stronger economy, more vibrant communities and a legacy for which we can be proud. We will continue to raise awareness about sustaining our province for generations to come not only during Environment Week, but every week of the year.

Thank you.

2012 06 06             2:25 p.m.

Last Updated:
This page and all contents are copyright, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, all rights reserved.