News Releases
Government Home Search Sitemap Contact Us  

Tourism, Culture and Recreation
December 3, 2010

The following is being distributed at the request of School Sports Newfoundland and Labrador:

Four Provincial Volleyball Tournaments this Weekend

School Sports Newfoundland and Labrador ends its high school girls volleyball this coming weekend, as four new provincial champions will be declared. Thirty-four teams from across the province have qualified through regional competitions over the past few weeks.

The Small Schools Girls Volleyball Provincial is being hosted by Valmont Academy in Kingís Point. Eight teams have advanced to the tournament including Valmont Academy, St. Markís School (Kings Cove), Christ the King School (Rushoon), Main River Academy (Pollardís Point), St. James All Grade (Lark Harbour), St. Maryís All Grade (Maryís Harbour), Eric G. Lambert School (Churchill Falls) and Fortune Bay Academy. The tournament began Thursday at 7:00 p.m. and continues throughout the day on Friday and concludes with the cross over matches and championship game on Saturday afternoon.

MSB Regional Academy in Middle Arm is the host school for the Provincial 2A Girls Volleyball tournament. Eight teams will compete in a two division, round robin format for top honors. Competing in Division 1 will be Gill Memorial Academy (Musgrave Harbour), MSB Regional Academy, Labrador Straits Academy (Forteau) and Belanger Memorial (Doyles). Rounding out the tournament in Division II will be John Watkins Academy (Hermitage), St. Peters Academy (Westport), Cloud River Academy (Roddickton) and St. Lawrence Academy. Matches get underway 3:00 p.m. Thursday and conclude with the championship game 11:30 a.m. Saturday.

The eight teams who have qualified for the Provincial Girls 3A Volleyball will travel to Leo Burke Academy in Bishop Falls. The tournament gets underway Friday at 10:00 a.m. Eight matches will be played on Friday, as crossovers and championship games slated for Saturday. The championship game is set for approximately 3:30 p.m. The teams vying for the provincial title for 3A Girls include: Leo Burke Academy, Pearson Academy (Wesleyville), Hermitage Collegiate (Lethbridge), and Templeton Collegiate (Meadows) in Division A and St. James Regional High (Port Aux Basques), Menihek High (Labrador City), Pasadena Academy and Baccalieu Collegiate (Old Perlican).

Ten teams will battle it out for the coveted championship banner in the 4A division. Gander Collegiate will play host to Division A teams along with Stephenville High, Gonzaga High (St. Johnís), Exploits Valley High (Grand Falls), Prince of Wales Collegiate (St. Johnís). Competing in Division B will be Bishops College (St. Johnís), Clarenville High, Ascension Collegiate (Bay Roberts), Corner Brook High and Mount Pearl Senior High. The competition gets underway at 1:00 p.m. Friday and will be played at both Gander Collegiate and St. Paulís Jr. High. The top two teams meet in the championship match at 3:30 p.m. Saturday afternoon.

In addition to gold and silver SSNL medals, a championship banner will be awarded to the winning teams. SSNL believes strongly in the values and principles of Sportsmanship. In recognition of this, an individual sportsmanship medal will be presented to one deserving person on each team. All teams and officials vote to recognize a team which has displayed great sportsmanship, as well. This team is awarded the Team Sportsmanship Banner.

School Sports Newfoundland and Labrador tournaments are made possible, in part, because of the generous support of corporate sponsors. Subway, Dairy Farmers Association/School Milk Foundation and R.B.C. are sponsors of SSNL.

For complete schedule and game scores, visit 

- 30 -

Girls 2A Volleyball - Adam Matthews 252-2905(Tel) 252-2101(Fax)
Girls 3A Volleyball - Chad Richards 258-6337(Tel) 258-6093(Fax)
Girls 4A Volleyball - Bob Dyckson or Deon Goulding 256-2581(Tel) 651-2986(Fax)
Girls Small Schools Volleyball - Roger Jacobs 268-2005(Tel) 268-2296(Fax)

Media contact:
Karen Richard
Executive Director

2010 12 03                                                   4:30 p.m.

SearchHomeBack to GovernmentContact Us

All material copyright the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador. No unauthorized copying or redeployment permitted. The Government assumes no responsibility for the accuracy of any material deployed on an unauthorized server.
Disclaimer/Copyright/Privacy Statement