Executive Council
Tourism, Culture and Recreation
January 22, 2009

Premier Welcomes Return of Juno Awards in 2010

The Honourable Danny Williams, Premier of Newfoundland and Labrador, today welcomed news that the 2010 Juno Awards will once again be held in St. Johnís, and that Ken Marshall, President (Atlantic Region) for Rogers Cable Communications Inc., will chair the host city committee. The Junos were last held in the city in 2002.

The announcement was made by Melanie Berry, President of the Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS), during a news conference today at The Rooms. Also participating, along with Premier Williams, were the Honourable Keith Ashfield Federal Minister of State (Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency), and His Worship Dennis OíKeefe, Mayor of the City of St. Johnís.

"We welcome the return of the Juno Awards to St. Johnís, and the appointment of Ken Marshall to head up the host committee," said Premier Williams. "Mr. Marshall brings a wealth of knowledge and leadership experience to the role and I am confident the 2010 Junos will be an event that the national music industry, and people throughout the country, will remember and talk about for many years to come. I encourage area residents to get involved in this fabulous event and help show the rest of the country that the City of St. Johnís, and the Province of Newfoundland and Labrador, can put on a show like no other."

The 2010 Juno Awards will include a variety of events and festivities which will take place over four days from April 15-18. The 39th annual Juno Awards show will be broadcast on CTV, Sunday, April 18, 2010.

The Honourable Clyde Jackman, Minister of Tourism, Culture and Recreation, said the Juno Awards provide a unique opportunity to showcase this provinceís rich musical tradition and culture on the national scene.

"Today, Newfoundland and Labrador is recognized as having one of the most vibrant cultural communities in the country," said Minister Jackman. "As a government, we recognize that the contribution of our established and emerging musicians is central to our social and economic success. The Juno Awards will help showcase the amazing talent this province has produced, and continues to produce, and provide networking opportunities that will benefit individual artists and our music industry as a whole."

Ms. Berry said members of CARAS are excited to bring the Juno Awards back to St. Johnís,

and that the organization is anticipating an excellent event.

"The Juno Awards have come full circle to arrive back in St. Johnís following the great success of our visit here in 2002, and we at CARAS are thrilled to be returning to a city of such enthusiasm and rich musical tradition," said Ms. Berry. "2010 will mark the beginning of an exciting new cycle for the next generation of Juno Awards."

Mr. Marshall said he is looking forward to heading up the host committee, and that programming details will be announced at a later date.

"The 2010 Awards will bring thousands of visitors to St. Johnís and include a national broadcast which will reach an audience of over 1.5 million," said Mr. Marshall. "I look forward to working with all of our partners to ensure the 2010 Juno Awards in St. Johnís are a huge success."

The Provincial Government has committed $750,000 to host the 2010 Juno Awards. Other sponsors, to date, include the Foundation to Assist Canadian Talent on Recordings (FACTOR), Canadaís Private Radio Broadcasters, the Department of Canadian Heritageís Canada Music Fund, the Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency, the City of St. Johnís, and Radio Starmaker Fund.

- 30 -

Media contacts:

Elizabeth Matthews
Director of Communications
Office of the Premier
Heather May
Director of Communications
Department of Tourism, Culture and Recreation
709-729-0928, 697-5061
Roger Scaplen
Press Secretary
Office of the Premier
709-729-4304, 727-0991
Katherine Holmes
Holmes Creative Communications
(for CARAS)
Office: 416-628-5604
Mobile: 416-919-6310

2009 01 22                                                     11:00 a.m.

SearchHomeBack to GovernmentContact Us

All material copyright the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador. No unauthorized copying or redeployment permitted. The Government assumes no responsibility for the accuracy of any material deployed on an unauthorized server.
Disclaimer/Copyright/Privacy Statement