July 17, 1997
(Tourism, Culture and Recreation)

The following is being distributed at the request of Sport Newfoundland and Labrador:

The Newfoundland and Labrador Volleyball Association will be hosting the 1997 Men's and Women's Midget/Midget plus 1 Eastern Canadian Championships at the Provincial Training Centre in Stephenville on July 24 - 26. The women's tournament has two teams from New Brunswick, two from Nova Scotia and two representing Newfoundland and Labrador. The men's tournament has two Nova Scotia teams, one New Brunswick team and two Newfoundland and Labrador teams. These teams are part of a developmental program for volleyball players from Grades 9 - 11 who have been identified in regional identification camps. It is from this pool of athletes that the future Canada Games athletes and National Team Challenge Cup Teams will be selected. The program also serves the purpose in developing future coaches for Canada Games and Provincial Team Programs.

During the tournament the assistant technical director of Volleyball Canada, Vincent Pichette, will hold coaching seminars each evening which will include two classroom sessions on the move to a game- like approach to training, and basic skills update as a result of recent rule changes, and the expectations and goals that coaches should have with summer provincial teams. Vincent will also run a competition microcycle training session with some of the athletes at the tournament for the coaches to observe.

Members of each Newfoundland and Labrador team for the Eastern Canadian Championships are outlined below.


Nadine Murray - Marystown
Jennifer Collins - Corner Brook
Heather Oates - Corner Brook
Jennifer Trask - Corner Brook
Erin McCormack - Corner Brook
Heather Dawe - Gander
Amy Bouzane - Grand Falls-Windsor
Denika Andrews - Grand Falls-Windsor
Shylah Elliott - Botwood
Patricia Keough - Catalina
Allison Pitcher - Corner Brook
Alicia Hamlyn - Labrador
Erica Clarke - Labrador

Head Coach: Bruce Andrews - Grand Falls-Windsor

Assistant Coach: Jennifer Earle - St. John's

Manager: Neil Rowe - Grand Falls-Windsor


Claudia Baggs - Bay D'Espoir
Sarah Day - Paradise
Amanda Dunphy - Milltown Andrea Feltham - Corner Brook
Catherine Flemming - Corner Brook
April Glavine - Grand Falls-Windsor
Jennifer Hynes - Little Burnt Bay
Micheala Kean - Harbour Breton
Alexandra Mackey - St. John's
Kathy Pennell - Benoits Cove
Jennifer Wheeler - Embree

Head Coach: Karen Murphy - St. John's


Matthew Anthony - Grand Falls-Windsor
Jonathan Kelly - Avondale
Tommy Kelly - Avondale
Byron Downton - CBS
Chad Vivian - Hare Bay
Aaron Kelly - Pasadena
Brad Pelley - Dover
Brad Brinston - Sunnyside
Lee Humphries - Lumsden
Justin Skinner - Harbour Breton
Chris Dyke - Gambo
Adam Dawson - Brigus
Matthew Noseworthy - St. John's

Head Coach: Deon Goulding - Gambo

Assistant Coach: Corey Pritchett - Twillingate


Chris Rose - Pasadena
Daniel Porter - Clarenville
Steve Hounsell - Dover
Steve Penney - Corner Brook
James Bennett - Clarkes Beach
Craig Hoskins - Bishop's Falls
Mike Legge - Shoal Harbour
Mike Duggan - Melrose
Mike Pond - Port Rexton

Head Coach: Clay Reimer - St. John's

Assistant Coach: Ron Noseworthy - St. John's

Contact: Jennifer Earle, (709) 576-0817.

1997 07 17   1:35 p.m.

SearchHomeBack to GovernmentContact Us

All material copyright the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador. No unauthorized copying or redeployment permitted. The Government assumes no responsibility for the accuracy of any material deployed on an unauthorized server.
Disclaimer/Copyright/Privacy Statement