News Releases
Government Home Search Sitemap Contact Us  

October 24, 1997

Minister names several new appointments to MUN'S board of regents

Roger Grimes, Minister of Education, today announced the appointment of several new members to Memorial University's Board of Regents.

Named to three-year terms are: Edward Roberts, Q.C., (Chair), Brendan Paddock (St. John's), Nancy Kelly (Corner Brook), Sharon Duggan (Mount Pearl), Harvey Short (Mount Pearl), Dr. Georgina Hedges (Grand Falls-Windsor), Gail Aylward (St. John's) and Joan Pinsent (Stephenville).

The following persons were reappointed for a further three-year term: Peter Fenwick, Aubrey Bonnell, Frankie O'Neill and David Power.

The student representatives are: Amy Wyse and Cyril Bonia.

"I am pleased that we were able to attract such a distinguished group to serve on the Board during this important time in the University's history," stated Mr. Grimes. "They are positioned to lead the University into the next millennium."

Mr. Grimes also thanked outgoing members, especially former chairperson Janet Gardiner, for their dedicated volunteer efforts over the past six years.

Contact: Carl Cooper, (709) 729-5040

1997 10 24 9:30 a.m.

SearchHomeBack to GovernmentContact Us

All material copyright the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador. No unauthorized copying or redeployment permitted. The Government assumes no responsibility for the accuracy of any material deployed on an unauthorized server.
Disclaimer/Copyright/Privacy Statement